Another Round of "What I'm Watching": Seasons Change

image.png


Somehow over the summer, I have built up a pretty good list of shows that I have been watching and a little each week I plan on sharing them with you. I think it helps that shows in general are shorter these days. I remember when a season on regular television would last something like 24 episodes. These days 12 seems to be about the max anyone can handle and in some cases we only get 6 to 8 episodes per season.

I think another reason I have been able to watch more TV is because several years ago I cut out a huge clump of shows that were a waste of my time. I used to follow the shows in the DC Universe on the CW pretty religiously. Arrow, Flash, Supergirl, Legends of Tomorrow, I pretty much watched them all. Then suddenly I realized I didn't care about any of the characters in the show anymore.

I dropped them like a hot potato, no regrets. The same was true with Grey's Anatomy for @mrsbozz and I. With so many exits of actors and actresses from the show, we decided we just didn't care anymore. We had zero emotional attachment to any of the characters, and that made it difficult to continue watching.

Back then, Grey's was one of those shows that had a 20+ episode season, so that cleared up a great deal of time for us.

In the summer, we spend a lot of our time watching our nieces and nephews playing sports. As you can see from the opening photo, it doesn't matter when or where, we find a way. Additionally, many weekends we are camping or travelling, and in that case we watch zero TV.

It's interesting because I used to be a bit of a media whore. I would go to the theater all the time and watch every new show that came out. I'm happy to say that isn't the case anymore. I don't really miss it.

But I digress, let's get into the shows:

Jack Ryan Season 3

The third and final season of Jack Ryan on Amazon Prime picks right up where season 2 left off. In my opinion this is probably one of the best shows on Prime right now along with Reacher. I'm actually a bit sad that it has come to an end, but the third season did not disappoint at all.

Guest star Michael Pena is great in the show and he actually makes you wish he had been a regular character through the whole season. This is a show that my wife and I watch together and she enjoys it just as much as I do.

She didn't realize this was the third and final season and I could sense the disappointment in her voice when I told her it was.

The show sets up the possibility for a spin off, but I am not sure if anything official has been announced about that yet or not. I will admit, it's a bit hard to imagine John Krasinski in any role other than Jim Halpert from The Office, but he plays his part here really well. Probably my favorite iteration of Jack Ryan alongside Harrison Ford.

That's some high praise I think.

If you haven't watched Jack Ryan I encourage you to start at the beginning and buckle in for some fun.

The Witcher Season 3

After having played Witcher 3 on PC, I was pretty excited when they announced The Witcher was coming to Netflix. Season 1 was fantastic, but a bit confusing for me due to the fact that they jumped around the timeline quite a bit. Now that I think of it, I probably should have went back and watched the first season again at some point.

Season 2 was a bit more linear, but I think a lot of people agree it wasn't quite as good as season 1.

Season 3, went back to the jumping around the timeline model, but not quite to the extent that the first season did. At least they were a bit more up front about it. I still love the characters, but season 3 was a bit of a mess for me and if you read many of the reviews on the Internet, the sentiment is shared.

It's hard to ignore the elephant in the room when you talk about The Witcher. The fact that this is Henry Cavils last season playing Geralt and he is going to be replaced by one of those Hemsworth boys is a bit distracting. It definitely leaves you wondering how they are going to accomplish the pivot from one character to the other.

If you are a die hard fan, you are definitely going to want to watch season 3, I just suggest you don't get your hopes up. Which shouldn't be hard if you watched the little mini series they did a bit ago Witcher: Blood Origin. I didn't mind it, but most people felt it was trash.

I'm not as invested in The Witcher as some people out there. I didn't even bother finishing Witcher 3 (the game) even though I enjoyed playing it. I'll definitely keep watching the show, but if you are looking for the same experience season 1 gave you, you will likely be disappointed.

I forgot to point out, this is a show I watch alone. My wife doesn't care for fantasy or science fiction stuff, so I watch this when she is napping or after she has gone to bed.

The Lincoln Lawyer Season 2

Being fans of lawyer shows and having watched the movie with the same name several years ago, @mrsbozz and I decided to give The Lincoln Lawyer a try. Season 2 was split into two parts, but all of the episodes are now available on Netflix.

I don't feel like the plot of this season is as compelling as it was in season 1, but it is still a good show. I enjoyed the episodes and we got to see a bit more character development with the main characters. The fact that it is created by David E Kelly should tell you that it is going to be a fairly decent lawyer show. He is pretty much the king of lawyer shows as far as I am concerned. Manuel Garcia-Rulfo does a really good job as Mickey Haller.

I will admit, it was surprising the departure from the character that McConaughey played in the movie, but Manuel does it really well and it isn't hard to actually start caring for him pretty quickly.

Without giving too much away, there are a lot of questionable decisions made in season 2 that make it a little hard to imagine anyone could be so stupid. That aside, if you look at it purely from an entertainment point of view, it fits the bill and should Netflix decide not to cancel it and season 3 comes out, @mrsbozz and I will definitely be watching it.

Believe it or not, I still have 8 shows on my list to share with you and that list will likely grow a bit as the weather starts to turn and we spend more time indoors.

I've got a busy weekend ahead and I am not sure how much TV I will actually watch. Tonight we are watching my niece play volleyball, tomorrow are heading to watch my pseudo niece march in the marching band for the halftime show at her high school, and Saturday we are driving a bit south to watch my youngest niece play soccer.

Good thing I have all this free time on my hands!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments