Selling My T-Square for a Bargain Price and My Mistake From My Mini-Business

Selling My T-Square

You can always see an opportunity anywhere and it is what I am always looking for when I go to other places. I mentioned before that I live in a boarding house where many students like me are also living.

Everyone adjusts and making friends. Some are just new to be independent and shy talking with other people.

Recently, new people replaced our previous roommates. Some left the house for good and some graduated. The landlady should look for another tenant and 3 of them are new in our room.

They are somehow good and easy to deal with. What's best here is that they are also students and freshmen. I found out that one of them are studying Architectural and Drafting so they will need some drawing tools.

As a business-minded person, I thought of selling my old T-square that I used last semester from our drawing and design subject.

IMG20240331232254.jpg

I asked him if he needed a t-square and said yes, of course, I took the opportunity to sell mine to him. I don't need it anymore.

IMG20240128101739.jpg

I bought it for PHP 215.00 from Shopee and thinking of selling it for PHP 180.00. I asked him his budget and said PHP 150.00.

IMG20240302130447.jpg

Guess what? I agreed for the price, I don't know why but I told myself that I should learn to negotiate but being a people pleaser sucks (lol). I would say that you must learn to negotiate according to you and the other party's needs.

Anyway, at least I sold it instead of letting it here unused.

I was even joking that I am also selling my table. Some part of me wants to sell it but it is really a hassle for me to study in our boarding house if I don't have a table, he even said that he might consider buying it as well but I told him that I was just joking.

But I said I am also selling my safety shoes which I used during our internship which I bought for about PHP 300.00 and I know that I won't be using it anymore so I am willing to sell it. And heck, no one will get it right now because who wants to buy safety shoes randomly?

My mistake in my mini-business

This is not new to you, but I started my mini-business in our boarding house since I got here where I serve as the third-party to send and receive their money.

The sender/receiver send or receive the money to my number and they will claim or send it to me. As for exchange, I am taking around a 1.5% fee for every transaction.

Read this to learn more about my side-hustle/mini-business: How I started My Side-Hustle as a Student

It is actually profitable, in fact, I made more than PHP 3,000.00 net profit last year from this side-hustle.

Sadly, I made a mistake in managing it and I am very aware of it. Despite being aware, I think it is inevitable.

I also spent the capital for my daily expenses until I ran out of it. You see, I spent a lot last year because of our subjects and my leisure. Gradually, I spent everything and now everything is gone.

Comparison of my expenses from 2023 to 2024 up to this date (as of writing)

My 2023 Expenses

My 2024 Expenses from January up to present


The personal category are the things that I bought for myself that I want or need — something in between. For example, in 2023, I had a huge expenses from it because I bought a laptop.

You will see that the Leisure category is at my 4th most-spent since last year and I really want to reduce it.


I can't fully blame myself for this because my parents are struggling financially and a little help for them is what I can do. I also spent some of it to complete my requirements for an internship and spent some for myself.

Also read: My Financial Situation as a Student

Now, my side-hustle is gone and there are people who are asking for my service but I don't have the capital anymore. I regret spending everything and not managed my finances well.

As of now, I rely on Hive as my main source of income — but doing my best not to spend everything. In fact, there's only one time where I spent and cashed out from here and it is to buy my new calculator which I also need for my studies (I bought a new one because the old one broke).

The bottom line would be learning that we should learn to seek for opportunities and manage your finances well. It is actually a great skill that most people don't have so they keep being poor. I need to learn more when it comes to finances and learn to apply it in my life so I can be successful.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center