Friends With Benefits?


}

When you hear that phrase, I would venture to say that your mind quickly went to the one sexual in nature. But here, what I'm actually talking about is 'real' benefits.

It's just sad for me to note that some friends we have are friends because they benefit from us. They get something out of being our friend. They get to be in better social circles because you're their friend or perhaps they get to eat at fancy restaurants because you are there to pay for the food or you're their go to person when they need financial assistance, whatever that maybe, it's because of you that they have gained something.

I really don't have a lot friends and I treasure the ones I do have and it seems that lately I'm discovering people around me wanting to be friends and then I realize that's because they think I can do something for them. The only time they will get in touch is when they need something from me. Yes, its not always monetary in nature but always a favor of the sort or other. It makes me sad.

I am someone, if you take the time, who is easy to get along with. I'm not sensitive about many things. I can adapt to whatever I am surrounded with and I feel hurt when people I open myself up to end up just actually wanting something from me...

I think they didn't start out as that, or maybe they did, I don't know. I'm generally a very giving person, or I'd like to think I am. If I can share or provide what is needed, if I have the money, I lend it, If I have food, I share it. I generally try to give whatever I can but it seems like when they realize that something can be had from me, they want to go ahead and grab it... Sometimes I get to thinking... Is it me who is at fault here?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center