Midnight Gems -Your Free Mix-Tape Show - E 66 "Song that make you go Slow"

image.png

For those of you who are new to my MidNight Gems series. Welcome to this nightly trip on which we will uncover & recover some amazing songs & covers.

Last week I did exactly what you eXpect of me. This week not so much.

This week I am on a break, a two-week trip of letting go and taking it slow.


Just FYI if you don´t want to miss a show let me know in the comments and I add you to the tag list.


music small.svg

I am so sorry.

No, I am not.

This is my shitshow and I share what I want to, share what I want to.

And I am taking a break from all my worries, I am letting go of seven years. I am taking My Time to reinvent myself, well no my name is Nobody so I am quite perfect but I do feel like going down a new road, all by myself but not alone.

Hence no new fancy tunes, but a bit of a broader set than normal filled with songs that make me go slow.
That allows me to rewind my mind, unwind my muscles, take a deep breath and stare the end of the world in the eyes.

And all of that starts with a not-so-simple tango.

Loreena McKennitt " Tango to Evora "

There will be a lot of piano this session but this fake piano can be a thing of beauty. A harpsichord, that is not a bed instrument coming from Laureena but it feels a little ancient.

Kate Price - Rest Sweet Nymphs

So I will not go down that Gaelic road but take a nice turn down this alley where the warm wind blows. Now this Kate & I go back a long way, and she always has that spark to light my way when I feel lost.

Kate St John - Where The Warm Winds Blow

For some reason she made me think about a girl I listen too little to. Nora was such a huge hype, and now...does anybody still whisper her name or is it just me looking back at seven years

Nora Jones - Seven Years

It´s the baby's heartbeat hook, I know. It's exactly what relaxes me in this song. It is the heartbeat of Niels´ unborn daughter that gives me calm and tells me that whatever happens, the world keeps turning and heart keeps beating.

Niels Geusebroek - Take Your Time Girl

While for me some days it feels like I am nearing October, starting the last season of this lifetime. I am going into the last inning knowing I won the game already, but at the same time feeling like I want, not have to prove so much.

It´s not yet my end of December but this song is probably the most beautiful German song ever written after Jeanie by Falco of course LOL.

Annett Louisan - Ende Dezember 2007

Okay let´s get staring at that belly button with some shoegaze overthinking things way too much, simply because we work too little so we have time to overthink things

London Grammar - Blinding Lights

Yes you did not see this one coming because London G did this one as well but Lusaint from Manchester just added that little more personality and depth.

Lusaint - Wicked Game

Are you slipping, falling away from your day by day? Going so deep you need a candle to light those places in your mind you never visit. Because you do not have the time you say, because you do not dare...you know.

Daughter - Candles

Going out with no bang this time, just sleeping deeper into that letting go feeling. Letting tunes and tones calm me down, breathing...just breathing is all I need to do now.

Enam - Elian

Encore

And probably my all-time piano favorite although this guy keeps surprising is this one. Here I close my eyes, and I see the biggest nuke blow up the world. The pedestal created a million miles away but the wave of destruction is coming at me.

And I keep facing it listening to ebony and ivory keeping the illusion alive, till my flesh is melted of my bones. Till my flesh returns to dust and my spirit is set free of the pain of having a mortal body.

@hanselmusic - Illusion - VNV Nation [PIANO COVER + SHEET MUSIC]


Youtube Playlist.

All these gems were added to this week´s YouTube playlist.

All Midnight Gems Playlist can be found here

Spotify Playlist:

The Spotify playlist might not capture the whole show but is meant to represent it as well as Spotify makes it possible:

music small.svg

Riddle Me This

Guess What, my riddle almost got solved @Bozz got so close with his afterlife, but I wanted a bit more to go with that afterlife. It didn´t need much, but it was like fries without ketchup... or mayonnaise if you're Dutch.

So what needs to go ontop of that afterlife?

Yup that is the hint.

What the fluff is Midnight Gems?.

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having an uncompleted study of radio journalism. I have been wanting to do this for years...Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this well-known wave of fantastic music and that you still feel like joining me on the next Midnight Gems Session coming soon.

Tag List

@beeber @mypathtofire @johannapeguero

music small.svg

Source Pic
Source Pic
Source Pic

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now