Midnight Gems -Your Free Mix-Tape Show - E69 Sad But Cute Girls

image.png

For those of you who are new to my MidNight Gems series. Welcome to this nightly trip on which we will uncover & recover some amazing songs & covers.

Last week I created this lovely old fashion rock/roll set with hip new bands, and those who know me should also know what to expect next. Indeed me taking my paw of the pedal and slowing down a bit!

As you may have noticed things changed and I am changing things. New times, new measures. Not sure how this is all going to play out, but for now these Midnight Gems sessions move to early Saturday morning so you still have the whole weekend to listen and in the US they will be out just after midnight.

This is partly due to that new fun #ninetiesfriday thing I am posting, and I do not want to have a whywhy overkill on each Friday.

Now this girl makes music, y´all do not understand a freaking word but hey.... eating pizza every day gets boring as well after a few years. That is why I just throw in some foreign spices every now and then. And Eefje is hot, no not my type of hot but musically hot....she is glowing (gloeien).

Eefje de Visser - Gloeien

I must admit Eef brings back that Bristol vibe from back in the day. Massive and Portis, feel so close but I feel another 90s topic brewing.

Wouldn´t you be in the mood for some Teardrops? I certainly feel some.
Let´s just do it 2024 style!

BOKKA - Teardrop

All these songs were just building up to my least favorite life of course. Found this song while watching True Detectives, and I thought it was a cover because I knew this song.

Guess it was a hit back then, or am I overlooking something?

LERA LYNN - "MY LEAST FAVORITE LIFE"

That sounded so good I want more, and I found it in Frente. I loved these lyrics back when we had New Order but this is how I like it served now I am all grown up.

Frente! - Bizarre Love Triangle

When I saw this next title I thought it was a cover of my favorite U" song. But then the intro proved me wrong from the start.

Normally I hate being wrong, but not this time, this time I felt I met a female Lou Reed or Iggy Pop. This is freaky good if you ask me.

Michelle Gurevich - Party Girl

You know I have a weakness for female voices, but like everything in life, there is a need for a bit of a balance. Even in my shit show.

So I found these guys, no it´s no Cohen but who knows how these guys sound 30 years from now?

Warhaus - Love's A Stranger

And if love is no stranger, it´s blindness... You forget to look and that can cause you to trip, or start tripping ending up where you never meant to go.

Love this strange cover, and that is the damn truth.

The Damn Truth - LOVE IS BLINDNESS

Can you imagine me finding even more Gems???
I could not, till I walked in on Mr Gilmour doing it with what I assume is his daughter. This is such sweet sorrow, because I actually feel between two points.

David Gilmour - Between Two Points (with Romany Gilmour)

How do I stay in tune and still go out with a bang???
I think this set needs to end with a bit of drama, a bit of beat, and still, some heavenly voice to connect it all.....

Guess what I found!

Belén Aguilera - Como en un Drama Italiano


Youtube Playlist.

All these gems were added to this week´s YouTube playlist.

All Midnight Gems Playlist can be found here

Spotify Playlist:

The Spotify playlist might not capture the whole show but is meant to represent it as well as Spotify makes it possible:

music small.svg

Riddle Me This

Guess What, my riddle got solved by @Bozz he knew how to connect all the songs to the James T. Kirk of the ocean.

I am looking for the James T. Kirk of the Ocean!

Yup, that is the hint.

What the fluff is Midnight Gems?.

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having an uncompleted study of radio journalism. I have been wanting to do this for years...Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this well-known wave of fantastic music and that you still feel like joining me on the next Midnight Gems Session coming soon.

Tag List

@beeber @mypathtofire @johannapeguero

music small.svg

Source Pic
Source Pic
Source Pic

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now