Midnight Gems -Your Free Mix-Tape Show - E 62 "Back To The Best a 90s Trip"

image.png

For those of you who are new to my MidNight Gems series. Welcome to this nightly trip on which we will uncover & recover some amazing songs & covers.

Last week
I was a bit angry but this week I am in a great mood. Going back to one of the best times in my life.

Just FYI if you don´t want to miss a show let me know in the comments and I add you to the tag list.


music small.svg

It´s Okay.
It´s Alright.

I´ll do the #NinetiesFriday party set Tonight.

I´ve been watching @thisismylife throw out some nineties EuroTrash these last couple of Fridays... I think I missed the Scooter post just saying. But I might call myself Baby, I think this post will show I might be a tad older than a toddler.

I know that The Netherlands & Germany did wonderfully during that Dance decade, hit after hit was pumped into the airways.

And at that time I hated every single one of them, at least when I was with friends. You can not be an alternative rocker and also like Charly Overdose and NoMentality Theo.

But I did, and that cross-over taste. That not allowing myself to be pushed into a corner made me the best Extase DJ for many years.

So let´s do a crazy pick and mix of some of my all-time favorite 90s songs for this show tonight.

Before we start the show this edition is thanks to @geneeverett for starting this #NinetiesFriday event. I heard rumors you can win up to 6 HSBI by participating but we´re in it for the Tech(no).


Let me start straight away with cheating, everyone probably thinks this is the 90s because the Guru says so himself....1990s Time for Guru.

But the single was released in December 1989.

1989 - Guru Josh - Infinity

And how I loved to mix that one with this next little Gem from Germany. The song is almost as good as that breathtaking movie.

1992 - U96 - Das Boot

This guy Adamski was one of the best DJs around at the end of the 80s and then the 90s came and he launched this one. He could not have done it without Seal who went ahead and got a lot bigger than him.

This track moved the needle for me and got me interested in beats as I already loved guitars. Well, this one and the 1990s Guru!

1990 - ADAMSKI - Killer

How often did I not sing pissing the night away when I was letting go of some digested beers? Probably more than a 1000 times as I was in da club every night of the week back then.

1997 - Chumbawamba - Tubthumping

1997 was a great year for weird semi-alternative classics because it also gave us this classic. Blur was oaky but this one..... YooHOO!

1997 - Blur - Song 2

After Yoohoo we got LA La Lalalala and low self-esteem like most teens! These guys were so much fun life, almost as much fun as Dog Eat Dog, but hey they're pretty fly for some white guys.

1994 - The Offspring - "Self Esteem"

Now these guys are just as crossed over as I am, I started with Girls and Fighting for my Right to Party and ended up sabotaging myself from going Intergalactic.

These guys were the Doctor Who when it came to coming up with the strange new poo.

1994 - "Beastie Boys - Sabotage

This is the end, almost the end my friend, and how to top this off?

Are we gonna top it off with Nirvana smelling like we all did back then or with the most Iconic Rock Song of a generation?

That of course was rhetorical because this was, is, and will be the anthem for the 90s generation.

1991 - Rage Against The Machine - Killing In the Name

And if you thought that was going out with a bang you were soo wrong, this is going out with a bang! A song so strong it was forbidden!

Many nights ended with this tune coming from the speakers, and no matter what tickles your pickle or peach...this one always went down well.

1992 - Apotheosis - O Fortuna

Encore

Darn, those were wonderful days.


Youtube Playlist.

All these gems were added to this week´s YouTube playlist.

All Midnight Gems Playlist can be found here

Spotify Playlist:

The Spotify playlist might not capture the whole show but is meant to represent it as well as Spotify makes it possible:

music small.svg

Riddle Me This

Guess What, my riddle was not so easy, hence giving away another hint:

In Dutch it´s a finger!

What the fluff is Midnight Gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having an uncompleted study of radio journalism. I have been wanting to do this for years...Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this well-known wave of fantastic music and that you still feel like joining me on the next Midnight Gems Session coming soon.

Tag List

@beeber @mypathtofire @johannapeguero

music small.svg

Source Pic
Source Pic
Source Pic

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now