Zlantan's signature

Greetings!


I love it when someone comes out with a unique style in music, whether it’s through their costume, rhythm, or dance style. Whenever I encounter such creativity, even if the song itself doesn’t catch my ear, I never fail to give them their accolades.
We have many such talents in the music industry in my country and continent, and today, I’m going to talk about one of them: Zlatan’s signature "Legwork" vibes, popularly known as Zanku.

At first, I didn’t really like Zlatan’s music when he first made his name in the industry. His songs felt blunt to my ears, largely because they were 95% in his native language. Now, I’m not saying you can’t like a song just because you don’t understand the lyrics—of course, you can—but with him, the tone was fast, and coupled with the native Yoruba language, it just didn’t click for me. But when I realized he had his own style, my appreciation for the guy skyrocketed!

I’m someone who loves dancing, though it’s unfortunate that I can’t actually dance. Okay, let me put it better—I can dance, but only in my head. I once mentioned here that I owned (and still do) a dance crew back home, even though I can’t physically dance. So, you see my passion for dancing.

Zanku, the Legwork by Zlatan, is one that I’ve imagined myself dancing to countless times. In fact, I’ve mastered the dance step in my head, but whenever I try to actually do it in my room, with doors and windows closed, I get so embarrassed, and I can practically hear everything in my room, including the walls, laughing at me.

Legwork, also known as Zanku, is one of the big hits that fully demonstrates this dance style. Each time I watch the video, I feel like I should call Zlatan and his crew to dance in my presence so I can shower them with money as a ‘well done’ for their uniqueness and swag. In this song, especially in the video, the dance was performed flawlessly, even by children. And as for Zlatan, there’s just something about his style that adds even more swag to it.
Gosh! After food, dancing is the next best way to win my heart.


Killin Dem!

Another song where this dance style was heavily showcased, perfectly aligning with the beat and rhythm, is ‘Killin Dem’ by Zlatan and Burna Boy. Come on, watch the video and witness the magic and ease with which this dance style is performed. Like, is this not the dance I’ve been trying to learn for ages?
This song was a massive hit when it was released, especially with Burna Boy working his wonders on the track.

Even today, whenever this song plays, the only dance style that comes to mind is this Legwork thing, and it’s so unique and sweet. I wish I could dance it out of my head.


Zanku 2!

I didn’t even know that Zanku had a part two until today when I was searching for this category of songs on YouTube.
In this song, the same vibe is displayed, just as energetically.

This is for #threetunestuesday

Thanks for reading.

Videos are from YouTube

Thumbnail

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments