This feeling called Jealousy

Greetings!

I've heard many teachings on jealousy, how it's one of the signs of love or feelings between people in relationships, both casual and romantic.

1001230079.jpg

For me, during the days when I found myself in love, I can't lie, I had this spirit of jealousy, though on a controlled basis. It was one of the things that made me feel okay, that I'm actually in love, and I wouldn't want to see my admirer getting clingy with other people.

Friday night, I had an opportunity to talk to a friend who was passing through difficulties in her relationship. According to her, she said her fiancé is acting strange on the basis of what he calls protection. I wanted to jump to a conclusion, but I kept quiet and asked her to explain further. She said the fiancé thinks she's cheating on him, and he doesn't allow her to make friends or chat with males.

"Haaaa! You should be happy. He's protecting you," I said. Although the extent her fiancé was going to was not ideal at all, but I just had to push in that word to make her feel special.

"Did you say protection? That is pure childishness," she disagreed.

"That's a proof of love, jealousy. He doesn't want to lose you, so he's protecting and securing you. And you know, he can't be jealous over you talking to other guys if he's not actually in love with you," I added.

"Jealousy? I don't think jealousy is any sort of proof of feelings," she said.

That was the word that caught me.

So we went on talking, sharing experiences, and comparing facts to know if jealousy is actually a proof of love.

From books I have read, movies I've watched, and my little experience with love/feelings, I think jealousy is actually a proof of love.

I'm not trying to go religious, but God (to the Christians) once said that He's a jealous God and wouldn't want to see His children share His love in their hearts with anything or anyone. This concept is very applicable to us in our everyday lives. No matter how pure and genuine the heart of a man is, in one way or another, he feels jealous, and it's natural.

There's a song by Fireboy DML titled "Jealous." One song I was very fond of while I was in school, and it has a way of confessing love to a partner or crush. The song is centered on jealousy, just as the name implies.

In the lyrics and video context, Fireboy fell in love deeply with a lady to the extent that he became so jealous whenever he saw the girl talking to someone else. He always confessed to the lady that he was always jealous whenever he saw her go away with other guys, but the lady would always shun him. Guess what? In the end, he saw his girl drift away from him, and his heart went sour.

In the case of my friend, we talked at length, and to this day, she has yet to concur with the fact that jealousy is a sign of love. She believes that jealousy in a relationship is childish because the people involved should be mature enough to trust each other.
She has a point, no doubt about that...she indirectly agreed to the jealousy thing😂

Thanks for reading.


Video: YouTube

Thumbnail: freepik

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now