ON A SPACESHIP WITH THE ROCKET BOY- BURNA BOY

untitled.gif

“First of all I’m making music for myself, for me, that l like, for me to listen to, that’s the point” – Burna Boy

It's probably one of the writing prompts I've been waiting to write about in particular because I never forget to share with everyone nearby in a given year how I met my favorite musician; now it's time for Hive to know too.

hive.png

A BRIEF BACKGROUND

hive.png

In my nation, where I grew up in the late 1990s and early 2000s, you had to take music seriously, and your preference in music depended on where you came from or what you heard most often at home, on the radio, or even in school. But as a young child, I was aware that some musicians existed, such as Michael Jackson, and that many others- Beyonce, Rihana, and Jay Z, were fairly well-known.

They were the true MVPs back then, despite the fact that I would flip their song lyrics upside down. But local music was easier for me to relate to, I always preferred it. While you listen, you can hear the names of well-known musicians who perform in various genres of African music.

Yet there was one name that most parents simply could not stop say: FELA KUTI. At first, I questioned why people were so obsessed with him, but after listening to this song, I started to believe that Afrobeat was produced by him, and it had strong messages that were orchestrated. Hence, everyone who was to succeed in the music industry would embrace the AFROBEATS subgenre, as did my rocket boy- BURNA BOY.

hive.png

HOW WE MET

hive.png

When two people collide in romantic comedies, the papers they are holding fall to the ground as they pick them up and they glance at each other passionately as they do so

(I believe they refer to it as love at first sight.)

The similar thing happened when I met my favorite artist; even though we haven't crossed paths but I stumbled into his music while I was in high school and it was the first time I had listened to anything other than the ubiquitous afrobeat. His music was definitely a fusion of Afrobeat with other musical genres like Dancehall and Reggae, and it was as delicious as flavor-infused ice cream with toppings.

The first song I paid attention to was Burna Boy's "Like to Party." I had never been happier listening to someone sing; it was genuinely love at first hearing. It had this steady rhythm that gradually burst into excitement and ecstasy. It was the epitome of enjoyment and happiness.

But, everyone around me at the time seemed to have a different opinion of him; they were not yet open to accepting his music. I quickly looked him up online using my tiny button phone to find out where he was from, and it amazed me to realize that we both came from the same city.

The words in his songs were a reflection of what I could see, feel, comprehend, and reason; therefore, I believe that the cosmos was actually trying to bring us together. So, having the best vocal or musical fusion wasn't enough for him; he also had the same mindset like myself.

vs

hive.png

HOW IT IS GOING

hive.png

The 11-year anniversary of my relationship with Burna Boy includes six record projects, international honors, and a Grammy for a noteworthy achievement. After downloading tracks from these music sites, I listened to my first album in 2013.

That was the start of something lovely and the best orgasm for my ears; I had never been happier to hear a song. The album's name is L.I.F.E.—Leaving in for Eternity—and the songs on it are considered old Burna Boy classics. My favorites are Like to Party and Yawa Dey—which implies there's a problem.

The next body of work, titled OUTSIDE, was released in 2018 while I was in my second year of college. It was the most intimate music I had ever heard and it completely embraced who he is. The record had such a profound effect that it inspired the name-OUTSIDERS as the fan base name. Ye was my favorite song.

The album AFRICAN GIANT, which is one of my all-time favorite albums and was made by one of my favorite producers, we enjoyed 365 days of dominance in the musical scene of Africa and beyond in 2019. It was a smash album that redefined where Afrobeats belonged.

We all connect to our songs based on how we feel about them, but this was the beginning of all the digital tours. In 2020–2021, the Grammy Award–winning album TWICE AS TALL was released, and it was the best thing the continent had listened to in a long time. The doubters in high school now understood that there is really nothing like bad music in the world.

We had "Love, Damini" in the year 2022, which is an exquisite gem since it was a celebration of a life that had invested a great deal into a musical journey in the hopes of meeting people who genuinely believed in his ideals.

hive.png

OUR FIRST TOUR MEETING

hive.png

As Burna Boy is the only artist I listen to, I have always warned those close to me that the day I encounter him, I will sob uncontrollably into three buckets of tears. I've been watching the Global Tours, but he hasn't come to my city, and my passport hasn't been updated since 2013—almost ten years ago.

Even on the hospital bed, my spirit and soul were at Burna Boy's homecoming in 2021 when he was celebrating winning the Grammy award, but fortunately for me, he did not play that day. I was so near to seeing Burna Boy that day.

MY MOMENT CAME WHEN WE HAD THE ONE NIGHT IN SPACE CONCERT AT MADDISON SQUARE GARDEN

It was a two-hour performance that took place at Madison Square Garden in the center of New York City; the arena was packed to capacity. I arrived at Madison Square Garden very early thanks to Youtube and a data subscription; it was the fastest click possible thanks to your linking on the streaming link.

It was a stunning introduction by the King of Modern Day Afrobeats with the incredible band named Outsiders Band, and it was the most beautiful intro I have ever seen in my life. As the program was divided into three categories:

  • The Love Song phrase

  • The Activism phrase

  • The Party Vibes

It was possible to observe how the sound changed and progressed and I would say that it was the most memorable day in my life, it was too good that immediately after the show, I made a post to show much it meant to me to meet my favourite musician

here is the link ONE NIGHT IN SPACE

hive.png

Your paragraph text.png

This is an initiative by @mipiano and it was in response to draw everyone around to hop on this beautiful writing prompt LINK TO ORIGINAL POST

All GIFs are from Source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center