First time experience, something to remember for the rest of life

Happy Eid to all of my Bangladeshi Hive friends! I hope you're having fun and being fair. For me, this Eid has been a little unique. By Allah's grace, I could finish my second Eid Al-Adha. You guys will read today about my trip and my firsthand experience with many things. There might not be images since I prefer to take fewer pictures of sacrificed animals and because I think it's more important to enjoy the EID process and be present in the moment than to take photos of everything.

Thanks to the almighty, this was the first time I dared to buy a cow. I'm thrilled to have crossed something off my bucket list. We (my family) planned to buy a cow just a day before Eid because it can be challenging to maintain if you buy earlier. We went to the nearest Haat near the airport, hoping to find a cow within our price range. We were disappointed that significantly fewer options were available than the previous day, resulting in a price increase. The sellers demanded a lot, even for the most basic options. I usually receive my wages within the 10th of the month, so there is no chance of increasing my budget. I had to be in a super tight position. I can say most of the people in the Haat weren't happy about the pricing. A concerned look on everyone's eyes if they would possibly be attending Eid with everyone else. Some people were still buying; I had a call some friends to seek advice on what I should do; I almost thought I would miss Eid as I didn't talk to any of my relatives or friends about keeping my share. Super sunny day, sweat pouring down crazy; Testing patience at the most extreme level. Also, my father is not super proactive in talking, so I was doing most of it; He's more of a technical person. One of my friends suggested checking out other Haats, specifically Gabtoli Haat, before losing hope.

After looking for a while, I decided to leave for Gabtoli Haat with my father; I never thought we would have to experience traffic just the day before Eid Al-Adha. Dhaka is really changing, isn't it? There was a time it used to get so empty before both Eid; now, the picture is so different. We certainly made it there; Right away started asking people about the prices to get an idea of what to expect before going in. I indeed found mixed results where I almost second-guessed if going there was actually a good idea or not. I got satisfactory answers from a few buyers. Masha-Allah, all the animals were so beautiful. So many people, so many options are available from different price ranges, and my eyes are primarily on the bigger ones. I love everything big, haha.

I asked different sellers and walked around ten rows to find my best match. One of the Australian breeds caught my attention. I told my father to talk to the seller, but sadly my father was hesitant to ask the price for any big animals. Well, then I had to start chatting. I am not super comfortable making conversations, but I'm making progress every day. To my surprise, the seller liked me and explained how dear the cow was to him; Alhamdulillah, everything went well, and we made the purchase. Now it was also expensive to get a van for transporting. Everything is right off the bat, double. I mean, I get it, yes. The budget is out of hand, and the dollar value is going crazy. Our economy is sinking. But everything becoming this expensive is making life more difficult than ever. And more traffic by the time we started our journey at 3 PM. We took two additional people on the van so it would be cheaper. People tend to create a scene out of every situation; two other passengers started fighting while I was in the middle. You can guess my joy right there, XD. Finally, after that, we started our journey, and everything was good. We took a break in the middle and used the Diabari route to return to Uttara. My mom and sister were so happy to see our cow.

As we brought our beautiful one into the garage, everyone praised our buy. Saying, Alhamdulillah, it was a good buy. Mashallah, we won. I believe this was in my destiny already, and I just had to work for it. After the whole day of running around from Haat to Haat, I had to hit the sack very early. Finally, It is Eid day today.

After Eid-Al-Adha salat, it was finally the time to sacrifice my share to the name of Allah. I wouldn't say I am super strong-minded, as I had a little tear rolling from the corner of my eye as I sacrificed it. I at the first meal of the day with the meat of the sacrifice. Alhamdulillah, I feel satisfied and pleased. I hope almighty Allah accepts everyone's Eid-Al-Adha sacrifice. Ameen.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now