SHORTS|| Favorite fictional Universe- Wild West (বুনো পশ্চিম)

Even though I substantially lean toward the epic fantasy and mythology universe mostly, if I must choose a favorite one, from every aspect, it will be the Wild West fictional universe for me.
I always brag to people that as a bookworm, my world of reading is devided into 2major zone.

Half of it holds dear of various genres of books. And another entire half is dedicated for Western- genre.
photo_2022-04-23_22-24-07 (3).jpg
Unfortunately, after loosing many these are (western genre book) all I've left

আহা! এই কাঁচা হাতে, গোটা গোটা অক্ষরের লেখা আর অপরিপক্ক দক্ষতায়, পরতে পরতে কস্টেপ দিয়ে পেঁচিয়ে ফিনফিনে কভারগুলোকে বাঁধাই করে ধরে রাখবার এ প্রাণান্ত প্রয়াস!
একেকটা বই কেনার ঘটনা নিয়ে একেকটা গল্প লেখা যাবে!

Regardless of all those high architectural, superior designed, shiny, aesthetic universes of epic fantasy, Greek or Persian mythology, Chinese dynasty universes I adore so much...

It's the wild west that remained when I count as the top most favorite fictional universe!

The wholesomeness of that plot, theme, characters, lives were seemed extremely fascinating to me.
The moment I had read my first Wild-West book, I fall in love with that universe right away.

photo_2022-04-23_22-24-07 (2).jpg
The first book to coincidently falling into my hand
এই বইটা কম করে হলেও ৮/১০ বার রিভাইস দিয়েছি!

And it was then I started to read when I was only in probably 7th grade. Fetching and saving from the very small pocket money to purchase one book was history at that time. And while patiently saving up, reading the same book again and again!
And I had one particular book that I would mark every time I finish a book. I used to be that crazy about these books.

Seba Publication is the only publication in the country that publishes Western books.
In their books, they had a catalog written under the cover of the book of all the published western books.
I would keep my first-read book close to hand and would keep marking and planning next list by ticking one by one!

photo_2022-04-23_22-24-07.jpg
The catalog!

বিশেষ করে সায়েমদা, জামিল ভাই, কাজীদা আর নঈমদা... তাঁদের ওয়েস্টার্নগুলা আমি একদম তালিকা ধরে ধরে পড়তাম।
আমাদের একটা কমিউনিটিও ছিল (এখনো আছে সম্ভবত) যেখানে বিলি দ্য কিড, জেসাপ, ওসমান ব্রাদার্স, রক বেনন, ওয়েসলি হার্ডিন, জন ক্যালকিন সব ওয়াইল্ড-ওয়েস্টের চরিত্ররা ছিল। আমার নাম ছিলো অ্যান-ওকলে, আরেক আপু ছিলেন ক্যালামিটি জোনস।
টেক্সাস রেঞ্জার, অ্যাপাচি ইন্ডিয়ান, নিরীহ র‍্যাঞ্চার, শান্তিপ্রিয় শেরিফ/ মার্শাল, ফাস্ট গান রক্ত গরম যুবক, এক বাক্যে যুদ্ধ থামিয়ে দেয়া প্রবীণ, আউট-ল, রেল-ডাকাত, ভবঘুরে আগুন্তুক... কি ছিলোনা! আহা মনে করেই বড় স্মৃতিকাতর হয়ে গেলাম!

If being honest, usually after reading 7/8 books of this genre, you won't find anything new really.
It's all same.
Texas rangers, Apache Indians, Out-laws, Attractive heroine, Fast gun hero, savage, rich villain, Placid Marshal/Sheriff, Ranching, wanted criminals, mysterious stranger, Robbery etc!

Same old thing, repeatedly replaying in almost in a binary order!

Yet...and yet every time I read a new book even at this age, I feel equally excited, satisfied-

  • By the sound of guns, meaningless draws, horses, wagons, batwing doors, high pitched laughter, irritating slangs!
  • By the smell of ammunition, pinewood, desert winds, raw coffee, jerky, whisky, Cigar, oatmeal, bean soup!
  • By the scenario of grand/box canyon, rocky mountain, lonely roads at noon, antelopes and turkey in Pine-forest, deserts trails, rail road, small ranch, horse stable, fire place!

The appeal of this fictional universe will never be old, cliché to me perhaps!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now