CHANGING CAREER

98599b6e6b12c67e993cd5ee60b2ed286dae5db5066fc1f4ed2277fcfc121728.0.png

I recently read a post by @kenechukwu97 which talked about disposition towards our job.

I didn't think much of the question before I agreed that I love my job and the career I chose which also led me to ask myself if I had the chance to change my career would I?

Let's go back to how I started my career in the first place. Leaving high school I was clueless as to what I wanted to do. I used to be someone who had no interest in anything. It was always a wonder when people said they had passion for anything because my only passion was being left alone๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Some had dreams of what they wanted to be which was lovely, those dreams usually centred around being lawyers, doctors, accountants, bankers and the rest. Me? I just wanted to go to school. Anything was acceptable.

One of my teachers in high school always hinted that I was going to be an accountant. Since I didn't have much of an option and my parents gave me and my siblings the free will to do whatever we wanted, I thought why not?

I applied for accounting, wrote the entrance exams, passed and the wait for admission began. Then it was time to check if I had gained admission into the school of my choice. The first list came out - nothing, same with the second and the final list.

I was so sure I was accepted, so I reached out to someone I know in the school. He asked for my details which I sent. It turned out that I was checking the wrong portal and I had been accepted in the first list except not under accounting but insurance.

A part of me was happy that it wasn't accounting, afterall going for accounting was never my idea, so I felt more comfortable with insurance even though I knew nothing of insurance at the time.

I remember a coursemate asked me during our final year in University what I wanted to do after school and for the first time I had an answer. I wanted to be an Underwriter.

Insurance is an idea I love. Certain events can arise as a result of the use of a particular item which necessitates insurance coverage. For example, if you use a car there's a probability of you getting into an accident, the only thing we don't know is when.

Having an institution willing to restore an individual to their previous state in case of an accident for a reasonable fee gives a certain peace. I especially loved the concept of having to access these risks and give an acceptable rate for that risk, that's where underwriting comes in.

Now I am doing exactly what I wanted to do. Would I change my career if I had the chance? For now, the answer would be NO. But I won't say never because "never say never" right๐Ÿ˜ and I may find something more interesting in the future, who knows.

So, would you change your career if you had the opportunity? And why? Please leave your answers in the comments below.

Thanks for stopping by โค๏ธ

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency