Faceless - A short story

dmitry-kononchuk-faceless-pfxs.jpg
In a pitch black room, the Boy suddenly wakes up in a man's body that he can't recognize. He felt like every cell of this body are tired. Shocked and confused, thinking may be he is dreaming. A moment ago he was on the roof, playing or doing something that he can't remember. Then he took a deep breath and this time he became so afraid, his heart missed a beat. The room smelled like death, and the air was so heavy, filled with sorrow. Suddenly a laughing voice whispered "Why did you wake up?".
"Who are you?" - The boy asked with a terrified tone.
"He is Faceless" - A humble voice replied, "And I am Obedient".
"What is this place? Where am I? Where is my mother?" - Boy starts crying.
"This is your home but not the one that you know" - Obedient answered with disappointment.
"It's all your fault. If you did everything as you are asked to do, he wouldn't be here at all. And I didn't have to live in this shitty world" - A strong, angry voice starts blaming Obedient.
"Shut up, Rebellious" - Ordered The Protector.
The Boy was trying to understand what was happening around him and as he asked "Do I know you, guys?"
Obedient started to talk like the boy was owed an explanation in a glooming voice - "You were crying on the roof in pain without a sound. Asking yourself why you are like this. Why they treat you like a outsider, every mistake of yours's was your fault."
Now the Boy remembered what happened on that day.
Obedient continues "Just to fit in you are praying and begging to be like other children. Like the children that your guardians always told you to be like. Then you fell asleep while crying and I took over to save you."
"Yes, you definitely saved him by sending him to boarding school. Why Did you even wake me up to flee away and later convinced me with that life saving idea of yours. We should've left that day. At least we would've had each other and a fighting chance to make a good life for the Boy." - shouted Rebellious.
"I was meant to be obedient. He was punishing because I did something wrong. And I called for you because it was too hard to look at the sun with a coin at your forehead. I should've accepted the punishment as I was meant to be. May be then he would've the life that he asked me for." - said Obedient and faded away into the darkness.

The Boy finally calmed down and asked - "Why didn't you wake me up all this time?".

With sorrowful voice "We wanted to make a good life for you to live and we could've. We thought that you will need somebody to love, somebody to care like other people" - answered The Protector.

"I fell into love and tore apart your soul." - Rebellious cried out loud, "I lost count how many times I tried to sew it back and I failed every time"

Both of their cry get buried under a the lough of the Faceless.

"It's nor the time, nor the world for you to wake up." - Said Faceless as he slowly push down the knife into the heart of Boy.

The Man starts to lough in the middle of the night.

Image source
This my first story. Never wrote before.
Motivated by @sarashew

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now