Reincarnation

IMG_20220218_153355.jpg

I believe in reincarnation because I've
seen my reflection in the puddles on
a muggy spring day with an oily
rainbow shrouding the edge and
a leaf in the centre and worms
congregating and I know
that I am
part of these.

I believe in reincarnation because I've
wiped away her tears that I've cried
before and will shed again and
felt that frustration
when the world doesn't see
us how we need it to.
This is replayed over and
over in each of us: a missed train,
a wake-up night, a split drink,
a trodden doormat.

I believe in reincarnation because I've
heard the devil on my shoulder
saying that you are all wrong and
I've believed him and fulfilled
my prophecy, and behind his
sly grin I know it was all me.

I believe in reincarnation because I've
felt angle inside my chest, not when
I need them most but when I don't
think I do at all and they make me
acknowledge that this is good,
that being here
is something worth doing.

I believe in reincarnation mostly
because at the end of each day there
are still the stars and waves and
the sunsets and all those things we
can't help ourselves but to seek out,
sinking momentarily into the
holy land
where we came from.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center