Let's crochet a mini cake!!

InShot_20240911_180011563.jpg

In a few days this baby girl right here "that is me" is gonna be a year older and I feel excited about it, I'm not the type that anticipates birthdays but for a reason this year wanna make me do that and I keep telling myself "that is not who I am".

I feel super excited because this year has been different for me, though times were tough and still are but then I can't complain because even if I do, it won't change a thing, and it will only lead to me being more worried.

In the spirit of my birthday, I decided to make this mini cake for myself, though I can't eat it cause it was made out of yarn. But then it still signifies something for me that I can't explain.

Materials used
Yarns
Cotton wool
Scissors
Crochet needle

20240911_121136.jpg

Procedures involved:

I started by making a magic ring " which means" wrapping the yarn around my finger and using my crochet needle to pull out the yarn from the bottom. Then I continued by making a single crochet inside my magic ring.

For row two: I made two single crochet in each of the stitches, then I continued by making one single crochet inside the first stitch, and in the second I did two single crochet, I repeated the same process till I was done with that row.

InShot_20240911_175936055.jpg

For row three: I increased the number of single crochets and maintained the level of double single crochet till I got to my desired length and size of my mini cake.

Then I made a decrease in the single crochet by joining two stitches together to reduce the opening and to close it entirely, After everything, my mini cake was out of the invisible oven like this.

InShot_20240912_060830149.jpg

I know how a cake can be, the whole icing and making the cake look attractive and delicious, I decided to put some uniqueness to my cake as well, in doing that, I attached the yellow yarn to one of the loops and pulled up a loop from the same place, yarn over and pulled out a loop again making it the second time, then I yarn over and pulled through all three loops and I made a chain of one, after that I skipped the next two loops thereby inserting my hook into the third and made a slip stitch, I repeated the same process till I was done with the loops, I did the same thing for the other side as well.

InShot_20240912_060954555.jpg

The next step: For the candle stick, I started by making a magic ring and six single-crochet then I continued by making a single crochet in each of the stitches till it got to my desired length. After that, I sewed the candle stick I just made into the cake using my sewing needle.

20240911_170546.jpg

Then I made another magic ring with my yellow yarn and made a chain of two after that I made a half double crochet and a double crochet, I made a chain of two and a slip stitch at the beginning of the chain, I continued by making a half double crochet and a chain and finally a slip stitch. I made another chain and cut out my yarn, then I closed the magic ring by pulling the other side of the yarn and I was done and sewed it to the top of my candle stick and my mini cake was ready to eat or!!! Don't know.

20240911_172047.jpg

20240911_172006.jpg
All images are mine and were taken with my phone.

Thanks for reading🌹

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments