DIY flounce palazzo

I like the volume this gives to the sides and the classiness of it. I made this flounce trouser to pair up with the draped/cowl top I posted yesterday from a request of a friend who wanted office outfits.
I chose them because she loves volume being a slim young lady.

In making this trouser, I made use of two yards of this blue fabric and cut out these patterns.
The front part of the trouser, the back part, the hidden pocket pattern and the spiral 🌀 flounce or drape.

So in cutting out the flounce/drape, I used this format that not only manages the quantity of your fabric, it also gives a beautiful design in the mix.

I made use of a 20.5 by 20.5inches double-folded fabric.
I started from the centre with two inches progressed gradually to 5 inches and then descended to 2 inches creating that spiral as seen above.

Here is a video to just cut out the flounce:

I attached the flounce or drape to the sewn front part of the trouser.


Before attaching the sewn back part, leave out the 6 to 7 inches side length for pockets.

I sewed the pocket and left an opening on the side.

After attaching the pocket and sewing the invisible zip, I cut out the waistband to attach to the trouser.

After sewing all the parts together, I weaved the edges

And…

Voila!

Here is a video to see a more detailed work:

®️Whitney Alexander

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments