DIY: Grinch Sculpture / Escultura de Grinch

Greetings friends, a pleasure to greet you. For several days I was thinking about what to do for this year's last contest of the DIYHub community.

I saw that everyone was doing the usual; however, I decided to do something a little more interesting, something that few, if any, had done, a Grinch.

Español

Saludos amigos, un gusto saludarlos. Durante varios días estuve pensando qué hacer para el último concurso de este año de la comunidad de DIYHub.

Vi que todo mundo hacía lo habitual; sin embargo, yo decidí hacer algo un poco más interesante, algo que pocos, por no decir ninguno, había hecho, un Grinch.

Portada.jpg

This is a very well known character during this time of the year and although he has a very marked inclination towards the holidays, the truth is that some of us, at some point during the holidays, have felt like the Grinch.

That's why I wanted to make this character, also as a symbolism that represents the joy of the season, because at this time of year even the Grinch can smile.

Este es un personaje muy conocido durante esta época del año y aunque tiene muy marcada su inclinación hacia las festividades, lo cierto es que algunos de nosotros, en algún momento de estas fiestas, nos hemos sentido como el Grinch.

Por eso quise hacer a este personaje, también a manera de simbolismo que represente la alegría de la temporada, pues en estas fechas incluso el Grinch puede sonreír.

f2.jpg

Step by step

The materials I used for this sculpture are the following:

  • Plasticine
  • Wooden stick
  • Paper
  • Thread
  • Paint
  • Glue
  • Molding tools

Unlike other sculptures I have made, this one is a bust. I wanted to make the characteristic face of this character well marked, so a bust seemed the best thing to do.

To begin with I made the base, a pile of crumpled paper with a wooden stick in the center, along with enough twine wrapped around the paper and thread to hold the shape. A little glue helps to fix it all together.

Paso a paso

Los materiales que utilicé para esta escultura son los siguientes:

  • Plastilina
  • Palillo de madera
  • Papel
  • Hilo
  • Pintura
  • Pegamento
  • Herramientas de moldeado

A diferencia de otras esculturas que he hecho, esta es un busto. Quería hacer bien marcado el rostro tan característico de este personaje, así que un busto me pareció lo mejor.

Para empezar hice la base, un montón de papel arrugado con un palillo de madera en el centro, junto bastante hilo enrollado alrededor del papel y el hilo para que mantuviera la forma. Un poco de pegamento ayuda a fijar todo esto.

1.jpg

I used plasticine of various colors for the base. This is like the inside of the sculpture, which will serve as the base shape to start molding. Notice that it started as a small cylinder and then I molded it to the common shape of a bust.

Usé plastilina de varios colores para la base. Esto es como el interior de la escultura, que servirá como forma base para luego comenzar a moldear. Fíjense que comenzó como un cilindro pequeño y luego lo moldeé a la forma común de un busto.

2.jpg3.jpg

As I said, the one above is the base shape, so it doesn't matter to use all those colors. So when I had this initial shape, I started to use the green plasticine to cover all those colors. I also tried to shape the head, a little wider at the jaw.

Como dije, la de arriba es la forma base, por eso no importa usar todos esos colores. Por eso cuando tuve esta forma inicial, comencé a usar la plastilina verde para cubrir todos esos colores. También traté de darle forma a la cabeza, un poco más ancha en la quijada.

4.jpg5.jpg

Once I molded the shape of the eyes, pressing on the eye area, there I made two holes big enough to create eye sockets and in those holes I placed two apple green spheres.

Una vez que moldeé la forma de los ojos, haciendo presión en el área de los ojos, allí hice dos agujeros lo bastante grandes para crear unas cuencas para los ojos y en esos agujeros coloqué dos esferas de color verde manzana.

6.jpg7.jpg

I wanted to start with the eyes, because they are the things that give the most life to a sculpture. So I tried to do it with a look that says "I hate you all", because it is a very characteristic look of the character.

Quise empezar por los ojos, porque son las cosas que más vida le da a una escultura. Así que traté de hacerlo con una mirada que dijera "los odio a todos", pues es una mirada muy característica del personaje.

8.jpg9.jpg

After I finished working on the eyes, I started working on the mouth. It has a mouth and nose similar to that of a dog or a bear, or an animal like that. So I made the shapes that such an animal would have and based on these lines I started to mold the upper lip and nose.

Después de terminar de trabajar en los ojos, comencé a trabajar en la boca. Tiene una boca y nariz similares a las de un perro o un oso, o un animal así. Por eso hice las formas que tendría un animal de estos y en base a estas líneas comencé a moldear el labio superior y la nariz.

10.jpg11.jpg12.jpg

Then I started to mold the lower lip together with the well marked expression lines, because I wanted to create a cheerful Grinch, in his own way, but cheerful.

That's why I gave him this huge smile, one that may seem creepy but that's the way the character is...

Luego comencé a moldear el labio inferior junto con las líneas de expresión bien marcadas, pues buscaba crear un Grinch alegre, a su manera, pero alegre.

Por eso le hic esta sonrisa enorme, una que puede resultar tétrica pero es que el personaje es así...

13.jpg14.jpg
15.jpg16.jpg

For the upper part of the head, I put a lot of plasticine. Look at the image on the left, it looks like a brain.

The idea is to have enough plasticine to mold it and create these lines of expression that the character has on the forehead, in addition to some well marked eyebrows that make a good complement to the eyes.

Para la parte superior de la cabeza, coloqué bastante plastilina. Fíjense cómo se ve en la imagen de la izquierda, parece un cerebro.

La idea es tener bastante plastilina para moldearla y crear estas líneas de expresión que el personaje tiene en la frente, además de unas cejas bien marcadas que hacen buen complemento con los ojos.

17.jpg18.jpg

In contrast to the forehead, I also continued to mold the chin, placing more green plasticine on the side of the cheeks and later on the chin, to make lines along the entire length of the beard to create a fur-like appearance.

En contraparte a la frente, también continué moldeando la barbilla, colocando más plastilina verde en el lado de las mejillas y posteriormente en la barbilla, para hacer líneas a lo largo de toda la barba para crear una apariencia similar al pelaje.

19.jpg20.jpg

That's how the bust was finished, but I continued making small lines all along the body, as I said, to create that furry appearance that this character has. On the other hand, I made small holes in the nose and in the upper part of the mouth.

Así quedó terminado el busto, pero continué haciendo pequeñas líneas a lo largo de todo el cuerpo, como dije, para crear esa apariencia peluda que tiene este personaje. Por otra parte, le hice pequeños agujeritos en la nariz y en la parte superior del a boca.

21.jpg23.jpg

22.jpg

Something additional, which serves as a complement to the character, is his red suit. To make it I placed several layers of red plasticine, which I then merged into a single layer of full plasticine for the red vest.

Algo adicional, que sirve como complemento del personaje, es su traje rojo. Para hacerlo coloqué varias capas de plastilina roja, que luego fusioné en una sola capa de plastilina completa, para el chaleco rojo.

24.jpg

25.jpg26.jpg

After molding him completely, I gave him some texture and put him in place. I also made a strip of white plasticine that I placed around the Grinch's neck, then I made little holes to simulate that quilted appearance that this type of clothing has.

Después de moldearlo por completo, le di un poco de textura y lo coloqué en su sitio. También hice una tira de plastilina blanca que coloqué alrededor del cuello del Grinch, luego le hice agujeritos para simular esa apariencia acolchada que tiene este tipo de vestimenta.

27.jpg28.jpg

I did the same with the little red hat, molding first the red part and then the white ornaments, such as the brim of the hat and a huge white ponpon. This little hat I placed on the character's head once it was finished.

Hice lo mismo con el sombrerito rojo, moldeando primero la parte roja y luego los adornos blancos, como el borde del sombrero y un enorme ponpon blanco. Este gorrito lo coloqué en la cabeza del personaje una vez terminado.

29.jpg30.jpg

31.jpg

The last thing I did was to add paint to create shadows and different shades on the character's face.

Lo último que hic fue agregar pintura para crear sombras y distintas tonalidades en la cara del personaje.

32.jpg

This is how the sculpture was finished. Below I leave a series of photographs of the final result:

De esta manera quedó terminada la escultura. A continuación dejo una serie de fotografías del resultado final:

f1.jpg

f3.jpg

f4.jpg

f5.jpg

f6.jpg

f7.jpg

Well friends, that's all for now. I hope you liked my sculpture. I invite you to leave your opinions below in the comments, as always I will be happy to read them. This holiday season I invite you to smile, just like this Grinch is doing.

I appreciate you taking the time to read my post. With nothing more to add, I will say goodbye then...

See you next time!

Bien amigos, esto ha sido todo por ahora. Espero que les haya gustado mi escultura. Los invito a dejar sus opiniones abajo en los comentarios, como siempre estaré encantado de leerlos. En estas fechas los invito a sonreír, tal como lo está haciendo este Grinch.

Agradezco que se tomaran el tiempo de leer mi publicación. Sin más que agregar, me despido entonces...

¡Hasta la próxima!


Separador.png

7.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now