Back to playing in the forest... but it's in Brasil

During these months of travel I've missed being in the forest and building stuff, I really wanted to allow that part of my creativity some expression and I've come across an opportunity to do so, in a place where I have access to drinking water which is very important.

I know nothing of the vegetation and animals of Brasil so it has a quite a bit of adventurous feeling. Everything is brand new which adds a layer of excitement.

My first goal is to build a basic triangle roof so that I can begin to stay there and give it my all. There's no guarantee that I'll be allowed to stay for a long time so I want to build things that are fast and fun.

Between finding a suitable spot and clearing it up this was what I managed to make today:

I found a car seat which will serve as a bed:

While clearing the area I was able to gather a lot of sturdy vines, which is really cool as I these don't grow from where I'm from. In the past I had to either make cordage myself or find stuff to recylcle so this saves a ton of work.

The structure is made from some wild canes growing there as I don't want to cut any trees since I think it might be illlegal to do so in such a place due to preservation laws. It'll be a challenge but I think it's manageable.

Since the canes are too flexible, the central beam is made from several tied together for better support. I don't know how much weight they'll hold and I might have to reinforce. We'll see how the experiment turns out.

That's it for now. More when there's more progress done!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now