How I And My Children Made Garri Locally

I and my children made the final local production of Garri which is one of the popular food in Nigeria and that of Africa. Garri is the kind of food that when I have it in the house, I'll have confident that I have energy food that will be sustaining I and my five children. Things in Nigeria are very difficult now since we have been facing Naira scarcity issues. You may have money in the bank but may not have the cash to buy the things that you may be needing.

When I noticed the big food challenge issue i have in the house to sustain my family because of the Naira scarcity. I have to go and harvest my cassava which I later prepared for the final stage of production. I and my children joined hand to fry the Garri locally.

In frying the Garri locally, I and my children joined hand to make it faster since the Garri was big. I also made my children join me in frying the Garri locally because I want them to learn the method for the production of Garri locally. My daughters need to have the knowledge of making Garri locally. This will contribute to them when they'll marry by making easier for them to make such in their husband house.

Material used

Local pot used for frying of Garri.

Local turner made from calabash.

Wood turner used for frying of Garri.

Local filter.

Method

Since we have already harvested and grinded the Garri. The next method is to filter the Garri and fry it locally.

I and my children have to filter the Garri. In filtering Garri locally before frying it. You'll have to place a basin and make sure it's clean. Place the local wood filter on top the basin placed. Break the unfried Garri into small pieces from the bag used for frying. Take the pieces of unfried Garri and put at the top of the local filter placed at the top of the basin. Use your hand to filter the Garri by using your two hands to keep pushing the unfried Garri gradually at the top of the local filter. You'll keep pushing until the unfried Garri will finish. But before you'll add another unfried Garri to the local filter, you must make sure that the waste from the unfried Garri during filtering is removed.

After you finished the filtering of the unfried Garri. Make a local fire and then place your local pot used for frying of Garri at the top of the fire. Add the unfried Garri filtered to the local pot according to the one you can fry. Before this, make sure that the pot get hot. Then use the turner made from calabash to stir the Garri inside the hot pot until the Garri is dried. By the time the Garri have not properly dried and the pot has over heated. Use the long wood k own for local Garri turner to stir. If you observe that the Garri have properly dried and can now be consumed, you can remove the Garri from the pot. To make your Garri dry quick after been removed from the frying pot, place a mat and then pour the Garri and allow to dry properly.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now