Warhammer 40 000: CLAWS & TEETH VS SPIKES & CHAOS!

Greetings, fellow fun-loving and passionate Warhammer 40,000 community and fellow Hivers!

Once again, I had the honour of participating in an Epic battle, an enthralling encounter that doubled as a fantastic learning experience in the world of the classic and lore-filled tabletop game, Warhammer 40,000. This thrilling engagement took place between my ferocious Space Wolves, hailing from the icy world of Fenris, and my buddy Simon's Evil!! Chaos faction, the Word Bearers. The battlefield was set at our hobby group in Cape Town, South Africa, on a Wednesday evening, on the day of 26th of July 2023. (As we were both playing with our startup armies for the year the total points cost for the battle was only at 1750 points and not the standard 2000)

Deployment type: DAWN OF WAR!

Image credit: Games Workshop Leviathan mission pack

BATTLE ROUND 1:

The first round started promisingly for me, as I had the opportunity to take the attacker's role. Luck was on my side, rolling the highest die and granting me the initiative to strike first. With the swift paced cunning of the wolf, my troops advanced, but my initial charge attempt with the Blood Claws faltered, requiring a strategic rethink. Nonetheless, I managed to score some points by engaging in effective shooting with my Ballistus dreadnought and other squads (Long fangs and Aggressors) while securing and holding key objectives in the no man's land.

Simon then took his turn, capitalizing on my failed charge to exact vengeance upon my Blood Claws, leading to the demise of their valiant leader, Ragnar Black Mane, as well as a squad of obliterators and daemons dealing devastating blows with their multi-shots. The battle was fierce, with casualties mounting on both sides.

BATTLE ROUND 2:

Entering the second round, I struck back with deadly precision, using the Oath of Moment to inflict significant damage upon the enemy's Forge Fiend, leaving it with a mere 3 wounds remaining. The Fenrisian wolves, led by Canis Wolf born, proved to be a formidable force, swiftly decimating a pack of evil Chaos cultists. However, Simon's tactical prowess shone through as he deep strikes (teleport ability for terminators) a squad of Chaos Terminators behind my lines, snatching control of a crucial mid-map objective.

BATTLE ROUND 3:

Round three was an all-out melee, with both forces clashing savagely, we both dealing blows with teeth, claws, hammers, swords, spikes, and vile Chaos magics. Despite the carnage, I managed to gain some ground, making strategic moves to infiltrate enemy lines and dealing significant blows, particularly with my obliteration of the Forge Fiend and then Daemon Prince through the Oath of Moment's re-rolls. Nevertheless, my enemy retaliated fiercely, claiming vengeance by destroying my Ballistus Dreadnought and decimating most of my other squads.

BATTLE ROUND 4:

The fourth and final round unfolded in a whirlwind, as time was running out. I had only two units left with 3 and 4 models, respectively, in addition to my Epic Hero: Bjorn the Fell-Handed. Despite a valiant effort by Bjorn, eliminating the Terminators and inflicting damage upon the Obliterator, my opponent managed to secure the objective where the Ballistus dreadnought was located, also demolishing the Drop pod and taking control of the objective. His tactical prowess came to the fore, earning him valuable points for the secondary mission to take and hold the no man's land, thereby propelling him into the lead and securing his victory.

Image Credit: Tabletop Battles App

Although the battle was fast-paced and brutal at times, I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and learned a great deal. Warhammer 40,000 continues to be an immensely engaging and rewarding game, offering countless opportunities for fun, strategy, and camaraderie among fellow hobbyists. Until the next epic encounter, may the dice rolls be ever in your favor, and may the battles ahead be just as thrilling and action-packed!

Thanks for reading!
Until next time - Peace😀✌️!
@XenoWolfza🐺

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center