A HOBBIES THAT WILL LAST A DECADE

Wargaming and miniatures painting is a hobby that have exist over a few decades. And although I've seen people starting and leaving this hobby; it always remain exist and being played until today. I've also been committing into this hobby since 7 years ago (although I've only started miniatures painting around 4 years ago). Miniatures painting always bring personal contentment to myself. Starting from only 1 brush and 5 paint pot, I slowly adding new tools until I owned more than 10 brush and around 40 paint pot.

But I've been in my own up-and-down while enjoying this hobby. Your sense of curiosity propel you to perfecting the work. Adding more layer and shade into the minis just to get that realistic looks. Times fly away and hours of working hours felt nothing. but there's time you felt uninspired, and your mind is not there to finish the job. You did the same batch repeatedly with the same color template, which turn into more of repetitive works. I've been in that phase, including right now, where I've been left my brush untouched, and my paint post dusty in the shelf. But actually I've been distracted since I've enjoyed playing Splinterlands for some time.

But I haven't declared that I'm done with this hobby. I just need some times to get my focus. Posting my article through Peakd have given me a small contentment of appreciation. And I though, I should have posted my works through Peakd with the hope this could reinvigorate my motivation to painting again. So in this posts, I will start lightly by showing my works setup for miniatures painting. It's more of an amateurs' setup, but I don't mind cause its a long journey and I just want to enjoy the process.

Minis Banner.png

The Brushes

WhatsApp Image 2023-05-14 at 21.22.11.jpeg
I'm using various number of brush from the thickest to the thinnest. The three brush on the left are Citadel standard brush, while the remaining brushes are cheap low-quality brushes, which I wouldn't mind if they break or goes brittle.

Minis Banner.png

Water Pot & Thinner

WhatsApp Image 2023-05-14 at 21.22.10.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2023-05-14 at 21.22.10 (1).jpeg
Water Pot are essential to thin the paint and allow enough flow into the detail of the miniatures. This is a water pot with holder rack which allow the wet brushes to dry.

Brushes needs to be rinsed and cleaned after some use. This is a good way to maintain brushes lifetime. Cleaning brushes also remove clogged paint and allow good flow of paint on the next usage.

Minis Banner.png

The Paint Pot

WhatsApp Image 2023-05-14 at 21.22.09.jpeg
I've got a pile of paint pot which at least encompass the 7 (seven) basic spectrum of colors. There are basic, layer, and shade paints. Other than standard Citadel paint, I also bought Army Painter paint. The Army Painter ones less costly than Citadel, but still I found Citadel paint have better adhesive on the miniatures surface.

Minis Banner.png

Supporting Tools

WhatsApp Image 2023-05-14 at 21.22.11 (1).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2023-05-14 at 21.22.12.jpeg
Other than paint, there's also accessories to add environmental diorama to the miniatures. Such as this Wasteland Tuft from Army Painter. Miniatures Holder is also a good tools to help stable hold during painting.

Minis Banner.png

The Minis Itself

Finally here's some of my miniatures collection from Warhammer Age of Sigmar and Descent 2nd Editions, which waited to be paint processed.
WhatsApp Image 2023-05-14 at 21.40.22.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2023-05-14 at 21.40.37.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2023-05-14 at 21.40.39.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2023-05-14 at 21.40.40.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center