Magic Monday: Red Pauper Wins!

I've written a lot about Commander/EDH and Tiny Leaders, but it's time to build a more accessible, budget-friendly Pauper deck!

Deck Construction Rules

Each card must have been printed at common rarity. For example, Lightning Bolt has been a common card in most sets, but it has been printed as an uncommon and even a rare. Those uncommon and rare versions would be legal if they are the only copies you own, because the card was still printed at common rarity at least once.

Up to four copies of each card are allowed. This is not a singleton format, so the same rules as Standard apply here. Basic lands are always the exception to this rule, and these cards also get a pass due to the card text.

A deck must include at least 60 cards. There is no maximum, but I suggest keeping it close to that minimum in this format just for consistency. You also need to be able to actually shuffle all of your your cards, so don't go too crazy for that reason alone.

A sideboard of up to 15 cards is allowed. Not sure what your deck needs for all situations? Here's your stack of alternative cards to swap out as needed! I don't have one chosen here yet.

Plan of Action

I want to emulate the classic Red Deck Wins archetype with a goal of hitting the mana curve with maximum efficiency to stomp and burn faster than my opponent can react. Therefore, I have a lot of one-drop spells to ensure a fast start, and tapering off on higher-cost cards. We'll see if I hit the right balance or not with some playtesting. I'll start with four copies of each non-land card, and twenty basic lands, although this may be a bit short of good mana draw rates without a strong starting hand.

Deck List

Creatures

Gore-House Chainwalker is here purely to be played with that Unleash effect, because the best defense is a good offense.

Jackal Familiar can't attack or block alone, but he's not there to block, and we will be attacking a lot.

Kuldotha Ringleader (pictured here) must attack each turn if able, but who cares? That's the plan! And he boosts all other attackers!

Riot Piker also attacks each turn if able, but he gets the benefit of first strike, so that's nice.

Rubblebelt Maaka is a bit overcosted for a 3/3, but that bloodrush ability is pretty sweet.

Splatter Thug has first strike, and yes, we will be using that Unleash ability again.

Warmind Infantry gets a boost if he attacks with friends, so I'm hoping he can also stack that with the Kuldotha Ringleader power ramp.

Instants

Kindled Fury gives a creature a power boost and first strike advantage.

Lightning Bolt (pictured here) is a classic red card and a staple in Red Deck Wins builds. It's also generally pretty pricey as common-rarity cards go despite being printed so often. It's good.

Spark Jolt pings a creature or player for one damage and lets me see what is on top of my draw pile, with the option to put that card on the bottom if I don't want it. Weak on the surface, yet potentially very useful.

Lands

Mountain—I may need more to ensure I can consistently play a mountain each turn and hit that curve.

Discussion

What do you think of this deck? Should I throw in a few extra lands, perhaps a set of non-basic lands I can cycle if I don't need them? Should I add them to the deck, or swap out some of the cards already in there?

Have you ever tried building a deck restricted to card cost like Tiny Leaders, or rarity like Pauper? How do you like these variations from the usual pay-to-win scene?


468x60-3.png

You'll more likely win just a few Satoshis per hourly spin, but it's an easy way to dip your toes in the Bitcoin ecosystem. Referral link.

PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center