Magic Monday: Crimson Vow

20211206_231416.jpg

Today, even though it's almost midnight here in the Pacific Time Zone, I'm still posting a Magic Monday about the new Innistrad: Crimson Vow pack. About a month ago, I opened a pack from Innistrad: Midnight Hunt. This pack contains cards which continue to tell the story of this third visit to the gothic horror plane of Innistrad.

In case you're new to Magic: The Gathering, each set is designed to illustrate some kind of story as the players and various characters depicted on the cards travel to various planes of reality. Adventure ensues, and wizards duel with magic spells while summoning minions to attack and defend.

Standard games use 60-card decks built from up to four copies of various cards from recent releases, but casual games may use different rules, including allowing older cards or setting different requirements for deck construction.


20211206_231350.jpg

As usual, I'll start with a picture of the commons I pulled. Only nine, though? I sense a foil!

Instead of telling you what I think of these cards one by one, let's discuss them in the comments. The first query for each unique card will get a 100% upvote! Only one such comment per person qualifies.

20211206_230959.jpg

These uncommons are nice. Spiked Ripsaw could add some fun to a green land ramp deck. Honeymoon Hearse adds a new twist to the older vehicle cards from years past. Twinblade Geist costs CMC 2 (1W) for a 1/1 with double strike that can be re-cast from the graveyard as an aura enchantment granting double strike, so I may need to add her to my mono-white ability exploitation EDH deck.

Anje, Maid of Dishonor is only a dollar rare, but she might be just what I need to head a vampire tribal deck. Hmm.

The foil is a common, but CMC 3 for a 3/2 that draws a card when it dies isn't bad. I also got a blank card that can sub for double-sided cards, a neat monochromatic Swamp basic land, and a Spirit token.

All told, not great, but not bad. What do you think?


PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center