Art #20: LADYBUG | LiSA




Hello! Glad to share a non-anime drawing this time, but it's still a fan art. I still have a few more fan arts on my list, I really can't wait to try and experiment on original drawings. For now, I'll show you a fan art I did to celebrate LiSA's release of her latest mini album "LADYBUG".

LiSA or Risa Oribe (real name) is a Japanese pop/rock/anime song singer. Her background on indie bands before she made her debut last 2011 made her a versatile singer, making her voice known across pop, rock, and anime music genre; however, it is with the anime songs that brought her immense popularity today. Gurenge and Homura of Demon Slayer? Crossing Field of Sword Art Online? Oath Sign of Fate/Zero? Yup, that's her. :)




"LADYBUG"




LADYBUG is LiSA's third mini album to celebrate her 10th anniversary as solo artist. The anniversary was actually last April 20, the mini album was only released yesterday, May 19.

I also made a fan art last April for her anniversary. Here's the link if you want to see it. Art #15: Believe in Myself (LiSA 10th Year Anniversary)

Now into the drawing!



ladybug5.jpg

This fan art was referenced from one of her LADYBUG album photos. Just the ladybug's color, her color theme for the mini album are red and black.

If you would notice on the reference photo I had linked above, LiSA's head was slightly angled upwards. I didn't like it, the position of her head is kind of awkward for me and her nose didn't look good on that angle too. This is just my opinion though, I don't have the eye of a photographer. Professional photographers might have a different opinion. :)

For my art, I drew LiSA on the angle I like, a simple front leveled view. I didn't exactly copied LiSA's facial features and went to my own style for fun.



ladybug7_1.jpg

As you can see, I made her eyes bigger, eye crease deeper, and lips plumper. She wouldn't look like LiSA if it wasn't for the clothes and hair. What urged me actually to draw this fan art was the shiny black feathers on her clothes. I find it really nice and was looking forward to draw it.




Drawing Process




Doing the rough sketch on the first few minutes felt off, I almost dropped making this fan art actually because I can't draw her eyes properly. (Don't know what's happening with me. Lol) But I tried again, and came up with a nice rough sketch. Doing the painting felt easy for me since I am going with my own style so there's no much pressure of copying every detail. I also didn't draw any line art for this drawing which made the process easier and quite faster.



ladybug process.jpg

Unlike my usual drawing routine, I did the details of the clothes and accessories first before doing the hair and painting the face last. Painting the face gives a lot of pressure that I often spend a lot of time on it. On this drawing, I painted the face last and I guess this sequence is much better than doing the face first.



ladybug1.gif



Medium: Digital(Wacom Intuos Comic)**
Program: Clip Studio Paint
Time: Approximately 6 Hours
Gif made on Photoshop CS6




Here's a song called "Letters to ME" which is part of her LADYBUG mini album. It's a song related to her first mini album "Letters to U".




That tree with lots of colorful microphones hanging upside down was referenced from her "Believe in myself" music video from her first mini album. It's giving me another fan art idea, maybe I'll just do it next month.

Just a short review of her mini album since I'm already talking about it! My favorites are GL and ViVA LA MiDALA. GL sounds different and fresh, first time I heard LiSA sang on this style. Although there are some parts which gave me some Black Pink vibe. Lol. ViVA LA MiDALA on the other hand was a collaboration with MAH from the band SiM and as usual, it was super awesome. I love their collab songs a lot. There should be more LiSA x MAH x SiM collaboration. Ugh!

Listen to LADYBUG here:







taky hive banner2.jpg




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency