The Magic of Crochet

Growing up, I watched my mom make bags, purses, and home items out of a ball of yarn and hooks. I tried to learn it before but I did not succeed. So, now, let me share a piece of my journey with the magic of crocheting.

01.jpg

Maybe it’s true, learning without passion won’t ever work.

I am a Pinterest person and that took me into a new hobby! I started to save crocheted items which are very aesthetically pleasing and sooner, I started to join Facebook groups about crocheting. I got inspired with every post that I saw and wanted immediately to try it.

I got myself the primary materials that I need and here they are:

  • Yarns
  • Hooks
  • Stitch marker
  • Scissors

02.jpg

This is one of the first projects that I made. It's easy to do, useful, and it looks very cute. These are crochet flower bookmarks in the form of daisy and sunflower.

03.jpg

I was also successful in making these hair accessories! I made scrunchies and a bow hair clip. I still want it in other colors so maybe soon when I have time.

I am still studying and I have many other responsibilities in life so I opted to make small projects only. As for projects like wearables and bags, I’m afraid I won’t be able to finish it though I attempted to make a tote bag once and I knew exactly how it ended.

I pursued learning even though until now, I only know the basic stitches and there’s actually more to learn. Big thanks to Youtube — many crocheters have been helpful and they are really gifted for being creative.

What does crocheting require?

Patience
As cliche as it may sound, every beautiful thing takes time. Pour a great amount of patience. It may be hard at first but it will get easier. Practice makes progress!

Passion
When you love what you do, you'll feel more what it's like to live. Life is always better when you are passionate. Crocheting can be your friend and it helps you to learn things about yourself.

I'm grateful too that there are people around me who are supportive of what I do.

307164986_619050649877288_2817674399566902498_n.jpg

My friend ordered crocheted flowers before and I was challenged to finish it even though I'm still a beginner. I'm happy with my output though.

How can crocheting help you?

Aside from the useful items that you can make which are delightful because you can customize it to the exact way you want it to be, it can also bring other benefits to your being such as:

  1. It helps in relaxation and having peace of mind.
  2. It boosts your creativity.
  3. It practices your resourcefulness and patience.

*However, there are also things that you have to be reminded of when crocheting. *

Crocheting is addicting, thus you have to allot only a specific schedule or time in doing this activity. Though it helps in many factors of your health, it has also risks like having illnesses related to eyes and hand, including backache.


I wish I have more extra time to crochet. I have a long list of projects that I want to start and projects that I want to finish but my schedule is pretty tight at the moment, I have a lot on my plate that I need to prioritize.

However, if you have vacant time and you want to change your habits, get productive, and challenge yourself, I highly recommend that you start crochet as a hobby. Additionally, other than a hobby, you can also earn for a living because there’s a wide market for crocheted items especially for wearables, accessories, and decors.

04.jpg

This is a crochet flower earrings that I made and I was also able to sell some pairs of it. Truly, crocheting can help in many ways, even financially.

I hope I got you inspired. Let's crochet together and feel its magic.

Thank you for reading!

All photos are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center