Kem Bot Is Up; HiveBotPH Is Down

As you may have known, I've been busy working on the upgraded version of HiveBotPH which was initially created by @jazzhero. Jazz is out jazzing so I took over the maintenance of HiveBotPH. This bot was still using the old command style and Discord already has updates like the slash commands, leaving HiveBotPH stuck in the old times. char!

Birthing Kem Bot


Background photo from Adrien Olichon of unsplash


Kem Bot, the upgraded version of HiveBotPH is here!

It's cool (wait, is it?!) and cute (ah yes it is!).

Kem Bot is a discord curation bot designed for HivePH curation work freely shared with other Hive communities and of no charge. It features functionalities designed to help curators evaluate or screen users eligible for support based on their community criteria. It also include functions relating to community moderation such as blacklisting and user activity monitoring using data available on the blockchain. This post explains in detail what the bot does, although some commands in this post are not available anymore.

Due to the previous support the community bot received, it had gathered around 4 months worth of hobby tier subscription at Heroku, since the bot migrated to a free server, we'll be using the funds for HivePH activities. Here's a link to what we do with our community rewards.

Technical Details

It's now using the latest DiscordJS library. I know you don't care because I'm talking alien but for those interested: Since Heroku also changed their plans and we don't wanna pay, we migrated to Google Cloud and are using its free tier.

It's still using tools like HiveSQL and MongoDB as mentioned by Jazz in his technical overview post. The bot is also using the latest version of dhive.

I've encountered some difficulties when coding though, and I don't really like how DiscordJS did their documentation because it's not so friendly for me but with some encouragement from friends, I managed to finish it last weekend.

I think there are a few bugs for some commands intended for Hive PH community usage but it's working fine. πŸ™


It's new but the commands are still the same old commands.

In the future though, you'll be able to see more updates.
As of now, I have 21 pending feature requests from @adamada and @demotry (mostly from Adam though, he gives me a lot of workload like a real boss!).
Mostly are intended for Hive PH community's sake but there are also others that would benefit the other communities (or are there?).

There are commands though not intended for other channel's usage (only for Admin channels). I'm still finding a way how to not let them show up in every channel the bot has access to. If you know, please teach me senpai!

What You Need To Do

For Hive PH members in Discord

Up until now, you've been mainly using HiveBotPH in #vote-me channel like this:

!voteme url

So please replace it with this:

/voteme url

Type /voteme first, then select the command from the options, then on the url field, please put the Hive post url.

This is how Kem Bot does it.

Sample only XD

If there's a reply, then it's successful!

If you are confused, you can ask me or other people who have successfully did it in HivePH discord server.

For The General Public

(IDK what term would be appropriate so let's just say general public for now πŸ˜‚)

You can still use the anti-abuse commands like how you knew it. Just replace ! with / and input some fields needed.

checking profile

memo

In case you don't know, Kem Bot can also calculate your APR savings like HiveBotPH. Gamitin nyo to kung gusto nyo mag compute ng pera nyo pero kung ayaw nyo, edi K πŸ˜…

You can also use Kem Bot to check your voting mana. (If you don't input the account name, it will get the default mana of @hiveph and @hivephilippines account. πŸ˜…)


To Finish

To be honest, this is my first time developing a discord bot and while I had some hurdles, I also enjoyed coding it. It's not that hard but it's hard. πŸ˜‚ But seeing it come to life makes my heart leap with joy.

If you're experiencing some troubles with Kem Bot, please tag me in discord. πŸ˜‰
Or you can tell @adamada and he will tell me. πŸ˜‚


Shout out to @adamada for greatly helping me out with the bot. You da best!
And @demotry too for sharing his feedback! You da best too!
Sorry I forgot to add you both in the beneficiary of this post, but I'll send out your portion once I claim the rewards of this post. πŸ€—


If you've been using the HiveBotPH bot til now, thank you so much from the bottom of my heart. Char!


Thanks for reading!
See you around! γ˜γ‚ƒγ‚γ€γΎγŸγ­οΌ


All photos are screenshots from discord unless stated otherwise.
Kem Bot avatar is created with Charat.me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
88 Comments
Ecency