My First Exotic Pet Expo Experience

Just last month, in April, I went to a pet expo where they featured a couple of animals. It was held in our university's auditorium and was organized by one of the organizations present in our department. I wasn't expecting so much before going there since I am not into this side of animal ownership. But to my surprise, I really enjoyed what I saw there.

As someone who is not very well interested in these kinds of animals. I do not really understand how other people get fond of them and take them as their pets. But as I was looking at the different exotic animals present in the event and having a conversation with their owners, I now understood why they love these animals. Aside from exotic animals, few wild plants were featured. Plants that aren't normally seen in ordinary gardens.

IMG_20240314_001956_253.jpg

I got to see different types of geckos with different colors. I learned that there is an ethical and selective way of breeding them so that the outcome colors are going to be beautiful and fit the species' standards. I also got to hold one of them, which the owner was very kind to let me.

IMG_20240314_001955_878.jpg

It was also my first time holding a snake with my bare hands. It was not that scary at all and the snake was very docile. Aside from that, I also had the experience of carrying a sugar glider in my hands. I had to be very gentle with it since it was just so small. The funny thing was while I was holding it, it peed on me. Hahahahaha!

IMG_20240314_002105_946.jpg

IMG_20240314_002105_441.jpg

I had a conversation with the owner and I learned so much from her. She told me that sugar gliders are nocturnal animals and sometimes they would create weird sounds. She even added that a female adult can give birth to 2-3 babies every pregnancy. She informed me about their diets and how they are just low maintenance. She would just feed them with apples and would let them glide inside her room.

Aside from the owner of the sugar gliders, I also had a conversation with the owner of those exotic plants. I asked him a bunch of questions regarding how they take care of them, how they reproduce, the market, etcetera. I found out that there are only two of them in our region who focus on exotic plants. Something that would say that the competition is still small and the market is still profitable given the fact that there are only two of them sharing this field.

I would say that the exotic reptiles and amphibians were really a standout. There is something in them that people really love. Their colors are so vibrant and pleasing to the eyes.

Overall. I would say that I enjoyed going there and will surely visit similar events in the future. Such an interesting event that everyone can learn from. I would also add a reminder for future goers to always respect the animals being featured in this type of event. If one wants to touch them, please ask the owners or the event organizers, in this way, we can prevent accidents and stress the animals.

I didn't have so many photos to share but if you wish to take a look at the others, you may view it here: 𝐅𝐥𝐨𝐫𝐚 𝐚𝐧𝐝 𝐅𝐚𝐮𝐧𝐚: 𝐖𝐡𝐞𝐫𝐞 𝐁𝐨𝐭𝐚𝐧𝐢𝐜𝐚𝐥 𝐁𝐞𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐲 𝐌𝐞𝐞𝐭𝐬 𝐖𝐢𝐥𝐝𝐥𝐢𝐟𝐞 𝐖𝐨𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐫𝐬. 🌿🐾

#animals #exoticpet #domesticpet #hivepets #hiveph #philippines #learnings

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now