Exploring New Horizons: A Day Full of Joy and Learning

Hi, Hive! I hope all is well with everyone! It has been a while since my last posted blog, but now that I finally have some free time, I want to sit down and write a new blog that is worth sharing with you all. I’d love to take you on a journey on one of the most memorable experiences I’ve had lately!

image.png

Growing up and experiencing changes is scary, but despite all that, it is important to enjoy that journey. You’ll get to meet new people, make new acquaintances, make mistakes and learn from them, enjoy new things, and most importantly discover things that will make your life and growing up enjoyable.

Now that I am a graduating student, things are getting more hectic and pressured. Choosing the right career path, picking out the right university or college, applying for scholarships, and focusing on academic projects while maintaining or enjoying the last school year of being a high school student and a teen is hard.

image.png
Credits to our adviser for the picture.

As students from STEM, curiosity, poking, prying, or simply the act of doing research with a purpose ignites our spirit. The research subject has led us to explore more that is outside or beyond our school campus. Because of the research subject, our adviser and consultant led us to visit the University of San Carlos in Talamban, Cebu Campus— which is known for its research facilities.

image.png

We began our trip early in the morning which was around 5 in the morning because we were scheduled only to consult in the morning from 8 in the am to 12 noon. The trip was a long one, for someone who lived in the northern part of Cebu. Our school hired three vans, one of which is where our section had used. On the way, almost every one of us was asleep, but I chose not to since I always find it fascinating to watch the views along the way. While watching the views, the sunrise did not disappoint, I took it as a sign that this day would go well.

image.png

image.png

This was the first time I’d visited the campus, and it was much more than I'd imagined. The campus was massive, which is more than 80 hectares. On the frontal side, they have their football field and a spacious parking lot. Buildings are scattered based on which department they belong. The place is so huge that they have a shuttle inside to save some time from walking.

image.png

image.png

Aside from the outrageous campus they have, they also have a good educational system. Since we set the schedule for visiting their campus a week before or so, the students and facilitators of the university had prepared and expected us. The college students and some of the faculties welcomed us and offered exceptional service and help regarding our research.

image.png

When the clock struck at 12 noon, we were already done. We planned on heading to the SM seaside to take a stroll. Since we were in the city, we might as well take the chance to bond together with my classmates. But before that, our consultant had decided to take us or tour us using the van around the whole campus. The whole tour persuaded me enough to study at the University, I would consider myself lucky enough if I get the chance to do so.

image.png

image.png

When we reached the mall, we took our lunch, and since we had enough time to wander around the place, we made sure to enjoy each bit of that given time. Some of us went to a cinema, while we window shopped for a while and went to the sky park to try out the rental bike which cost us 200 pesos for an hour.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

It was 2 in the afternoon when we went to the sky park so it was not yet crowded with people and good thing the weather cooperated and it was not so hot. We biked around the sky park while enjoying the beautiful views along with the fresh air since it is on the seaside.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

After 1 hour, we headed back inside and continued to wander around since it is a massive place and we have not yet toured the whole place. After the tiring stroll and tour, we tried the massage chair which we paid 50 pesos for 15 minutes— it was not enough. After the short relaxing rest, some of us bought food to bring home while some ate snacks and even early dinner. When it was 5 in the afternoon, our adviser decided that we should head back home since it was a long ride.

image.png
Credits to Hestia for the image.

I still remember how anxious and scary it felt when I transferred to a new school last school year— where the environment and people were far different from the environment I got used to. It was hard, but one thing that kept me going was the idea of adapting to a new environment and being independent. Aside from that, I got to start anew and discover things that were beyond my horizons.

image.png
Credits to Hestia for the image.

Adapting or keeping up with a new surrounding is hard but with the right people by your side who are willing to help, there is no doubt that you would succeed. I was fortunate enough to pick the right circle that helped me overcome all the academic pressures I’ve encountered and taught me how to enjoy amid all that stress.

It’s amazing how last year, I was a stranger to them and them to me and now I get to enjoy and make the most of my last school year in senior high school because of them— just how fast the time changes indeed. The day was tiring, but fun— besides the knowledge I gained from the trip, I also made some memories with my classmates that are worth keeping.

Thank you, if you got this far reading; I hope you enjoyed it! Until my next blog!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments