A New Stepping Stone: Opening a New Door of Opportunity

"The scary news is: You're on your own now. But the cool news is: You're on your own now."

                                                                        - Taylor Swift

Growing up was my dream as a kid; I've always wanted to be a teenager doing cool stuff on their own, to the point that I wished to make the time go fast. But now that I am a graduating student, I want to go back in time and just savor being a kid and fully dependent on someone. Hello, everyone! Allow me to share and write in this blog about the experience and realizations I've had during my first-ever college application on my own.

retouch_2024101006005672.jpg

One thing I am truly grateful for is having the privilege and the opportunity to have applied to a state university in the Philippines. Kudus to my parents, who have supported me ever since in my academic life; without them, I wouldn't have reached this point or phase in my life. It feels so scary to think that time flies so fast. It felt like yesterday, I was in the first day of classes in the 11th grade. Now, I am writing a blog about the entrance exam I took in the previous month, the 10th of August.

This was the first time I've traveled on my own by commute. The independent trait I had came in handy; I've grown up to be a person who is never dependent on someone about something. My schedule was noon, to be held in the UP Cebu Professional Schools in SRP, so I departed early in the morning since it is a 4-5 hour ride.

retouch_2024100619514299.jpg

One funny thing about this experience is that I never got the time to review for the exam, so I crammed all the way there. I borrowed a book review from my teacher and used the time I had on the bus to review. I never really focused, and I didn't take this exam seriously since this university was not my first choice. I just wanted to try taking this as a practice test so I could prepare myself for the entrance exam of my first choice university.

This university was erased from my dream university because my parents (although they are very supportive in my academic life) didn't want me or support me in attending the university. They never really agreed that I'd take the exam, but as a stubborn child who wanted to try things out despite the barriers, I sent an application and told my parents they didn't have a choice but to allow me.

retouch_2024100619521883.jpg

Since I departed from home early, I didn't eat breakfast, and I felt my head ache, so during the stopover of the bus in Carmen, I bought a cup of noodles. It was Sunday and early in the morning; there was no traffic, so I arrived early in the North Bus Terminal.

retouch_2024100619532718.jpg

retouch_2024100619544635.jpg

From there, I took a ride on a MyBus that was headed to SM Seaside (since the campus is in Talisay— just near the SM Seaside). I was planning to just ride a taxi on my own from Seaside to the campus, but my parents insisted I should meet with my brother (who is in the city, studying college) for him to accompany me in the ride.

retouch_2024100619552299.jpg

The mall was still closed when I arrived; I was an hour early, and I had to wait outside in the bench. Luckily, the air breeze was fresh from the sea when I waited outside. While waiting, I skimmed the reviewer and sometimes had my moment while watching the cars pass by in the road.

Aside from waiting for the mall to open, I also waited for my older brother (who is living in the city now because he is in college). My parents insisted and asked him to accompany me to the campus since they said it was dangerous if I went there alone.

retouch_2024100619563716.jpg

retouch_2024100619571395.jpg

When the SM Seaside opened, I ate a heavy lunch in a fast food chain with my brother. Then, I headed to a cafe to use my remaining time to continue studying while my older brother wandered around or window-shopped.

retouch_2024100619575289.jpg

When the time struck at noon, we decided we should go since the exam started at 12:30 pm (my brother accompanied me in the taxi going to the UP campus). When we reached the campus, my brother dropped me off, and he returned to SM Seaside.

retouch_2024100620024986.jpg

retouch_2024100620032900.jpg

"Overwhelming" was the term that could describe what I felt at that time. A mixed of the feelings — excitement, nervousness, and being anxious. Seeing some of the other examinees accompanied by their guardians, I felt a pang of jealousy and bitterness (I wished my guardians were there). I disregarded the feeling and focused on the exam.

retouch_2024100619582966.jpg

retouch_2024100620015923.jpg

I entered the gate, and the facilitators assisted me. They asked for my test permit, and they assisted me to the auditorium for the stating of the guidelines. Inside the auditorium, I realized that some of the examinees are friends and classmates (I envied them because my friends and I had different schedules and venues). At the same time, I was still grateful since it taught me something.

retouch_2024100620003666.jpg

After giving the guidelines in the auditorium, we then went straight to our designated areas and rooms to take the 5-hour test. It was the first time I've felt my brain nearly explode from overusing it for 5 hours straight. The exam started at 1 pm and finished at 5 pm. My whole body was drained as I stepped out from the campus.

retouch_2024100620040320.jpg

retouch_2024100620045475.jpg

Although I said I was alone in this, my father actually picked me up (by a motorcycle). I was grateful since my energy was so drained from the test, I thought I couldn't bear riding a commute. But what I didn't anticipate is that it was even more tiring than commuting. It was a 4-hour ride, so definitely not a comfortable experience. Although tiring, the view and the scenery helped me recharge a bit. We arrived at our house around 9 pm, and as soon as I entered our house, I collapsed in my bed and fell asleep.

retouch_2024100620061040.jpg

The day was definitely stressful, tiring, and full of lessons. Hoping to have more days like these, where I knock on new opportunities or doors and try out the challenges and tests it will throw.

Thank you for reading, if you got this far. I hope you enjoyed it!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center