The Not So Academic Achiever

Hello once again, dearest Hivers. This is J, from the name Jessiel. So, in this blog, since I already finished my 18th year of being a student, Finally! I'm going to reminisce about my achievements since grade school.

Do I have any achievements since then? I'm not sure, hahahaha. So here it goes. I already shared some of my family backgrounds here on Hive in my intro blog. If you are interested in it, you can always scroll down to the deepest part of my blog. I'm going to share how I have been as a student ever since.

As far as I can remember, I'm just a typical no-achiever type of child. As long as I can pass, then that's fine with me. I can't remember feeling that pressure in school when I was still in elementary school. Well, I don't really remember being that good inside the four corners of our classrooms. What I can remember is that I'm just a quiet little girl, or maybe talkative; I'm not sure. During elementary school, my name was always listed on the board as talkative. Talkative and not good in academics. I know some of you reading this can picture what type of student I am. I can't barely recite the multiplication table.

Quite embarrassing but this is my grade 3 grades.

My grades are at the tip of an ear to fall. Last year, I graduated from elementary school with an average grade of 82 Well, I believe that the government has only required 75 grades since then, and that is what they usually say. Since I am not an academic child, I was forbidden to join some activities in school.

Some of those are GSP and every recognition dance presentation, but I once participate in nutrition month where as my class adviser pursued me. Then there's a math class in the other schools every weekend, and I'm also glad because, God, I hate math. However, I did understand because I don't have any awards that are so embarrassing to remember. Let's just study for compliance. I guess that's my mindset during elementary.

My siblings awards, the true definition of Academic Achiever

And I have these two competitive siblings; they have both been consistent honors students since then. At every graduation and recognition, they will always bring some bacon. Medals and certificates. They are both Salutatorian and First Honorable Mention. I mean, that's quite a good catch of an award, and that's hard to achieve. They have a speech on the stage. Although I didn't really feel bad about myself because I was aware of my performance and I'm proud of them, Therefore, during my daycare and elementary school days, I didn't receive such awards as medals and ribbons. I'm not an academic achiever type of student.

Photo from San Remigio National High School Facebook Page

During high school, I transferred to a bigger institution. But my elementary school is already an integrated school, which means they have offered a high school education. But I wanted a new environment; there's no spark in my elementary school anymore. But in my elementary days, I was always the one to write some group projects because they say I have a beautiful calligraphy writing style. Well, I'm left-handed, so I guess that explains why. High school, where I am starting to get competitive, but not really that competitive, I still enjoy my 7th grade days. Where crushes are everywhere. I was awarded as the most reliable since I'm the Vice President of the class, and our adviser at the time trusted me to handle the class as well. And that's how I gained my first ever award. But I still didn't make it up to the top class because the switching of routines wasn't that easy for me to do quickly.

Until I got into Grade 8 to Grade 10 I'm always in the Class Officer but not in Honor Roll. But during my 9th grade I received a core values award. Furthermore, my performance is quite okay—until I got into a group of friends that are very adventurous, and I almost forgot that I'm still studying. I got 76. My father was so furious that my mother wanted me to drop out of school. And I have asked for forgiveness and asked for another chance to do so. I left my friends and decided to focus on Wattpad and being a K-pop fan girl. But I am a very participative type of student.


I finally joined the Girl Scouts of the Philippines organization, which is my dream. I graduated high school, and I got the chance to become the troop leader and Grade 12 representative.

Moving Up Ceremony

I'm into debate inside the classroom, and I do answer what the teachers would ask me. And I guess I'm just a late bloomer because where did I get the confidence and knowledge to participate when, in fact, I'm too quiet for that type of activity?
As I move forward into the 11th grade, I focus on my digital hobbies. I almost forgot the enrollment because I was to focus on reading Wattpad. I received another sermon once again, Hivers. I did enroll myself late. And I'm in the class of ICT, not in my dreams to enroll. I don't have any close friends at all. The year where I'm into Koreans and where I admire someone because of his Asian eyes, and he later becomes my boyfriend. That time I did study hard because if I don't and I already have a boyfriend, my family will get furious again and throw shade at me. That's so embarrassing on my part. But it's sad to say my best wasn't good enough. I only got 89 on my average, and the average of With Honor is 90, so close to achieving it. I am so disappointed with myself, but I didn't let it disappoint in the other school years. As I said, there is still a last chance to become an honor student.

During my 12th grade year, all I did was be with myself. I'm really not a fan of studying; it bores me. But I do force myself to study for every exam, but not to the point that all I want is to study. I'm much more into reporting; I'm actually excited when I do reporting every now and then. Thanks to God, I got the spot of With Honor in my last year of high school with an average of 92. Guess what? It increased.

Furthermore, my college days are quite unusual because they're online classes, so adjustment is really vital. I'm glad that I'm adaptable enough for the new ways of learning. As I can say, I actually still used my techniques during high school because I think I'm lazy, especially since our class is just at home. College is really challenging, especially since, after 2 years, the university decided to adopt the hybrid learning modality. Online and face-to-face, I'm glad that I'm able to cope up. Well, I did study during those years, but not to kill. I just studied for the sake of understanding, since I hate the part where every time I study, the topics on which I had focused won't show up in the questions. Study a little, present to kill the given topics, and viola, I graduated as Cum Laude, which I didn't really expect to be. But during finals and midterms, I do really take down notes, and I read them when the exam day is still far away.
I guessed I'm in the population of the so-called Late Bloomer for the reason that I didn't really understand how things went during my grade school. Believe me, in my entire academic career—18 years to be exact—I have received 2 medals, 1 ribbon, and a GSP and other certificates certificates. Anyway, I'm not an achiever student, but when you believe in yourself that you can trust me you can surely aced it.

PS: I'm not a teacher pet (sipsip); I can't barely stand some plastic treatment. I'm actually a straight-forward person. Maybe you just have to surround yourself with a good group of friends that focus on self-growth as well. Work smarter, not harder.

Adios, Hivers.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now