Performing Various Classical Strikes Using Arnis, The Philippines' National Sport

<div class="text-justify>

The first semester of this academic year is about to finish at the end of February. During this period we are expecting a lot of workload from different professors. "Hell Week" as we call it, is a week where our schedules are so tight to breathe, where deadlines for our needed requirements are established, and where most of the examinations take place.


Original Image taken by me and was edited using Canva

Looking at my To-Do list, I wonder how I am going to finish the tasks listed. When I say 'tasks' I mean several tasks. I needed to make three videos, write two essays with a 1500-word count, and review for the upcoming exams. Luckily, I already finished tons of reporting with my group mates, it is an instant relief.

Since every Sunday is our vacant day, I decided to start making a video to lessen my worries. I do not want to procrastinate on everything. I need to perform Arnis Classical Strikes in our Individual/Dual Combative Sports class, which is why without further ado, I prepared all the necessary equipment and even myself.

Arnis (1).png

Proper attire is very important before performing or playing any sports. It needs to be comfortable and let you move swiftly. In that way, there will be no future problems or injuries. For the performance, I wore navy blue jogging pants with stripes on both sides, a white tee with 'ISKOLAR NG BAYAN' imprinted at the back, and white sneakers. I also get my two wooden Arnis baton which are the primary tool to execute this enactment.

Arnis (4).png

Arnis (2).png

For some who do not have any idea about Arnis. It is a form of martial art that uses striking, blocking, thrusting, swinging, and twirling techniques for both offense and defense. In some parts of the Philippines, it is also known as 'eskrima' or 'Kali'. It is also the National Sports of the Philippines which was declared on the 11th day of December 2009.

Before anything else, I do warm-up exercises to stretch my resting muscles and do some swirling techniques with my arnis for both hands. It is not my first time playing this sport but it was a long time ago when I last played this martial art. I somewhat missed it so it is the right time to show off.

I need to perform (11) eleven Classical Strikes and after that select (6) six from those Strikes and Combine them into one.

Here are the eleven Classical strikes that I need to execute:

  • Banda Y Banda
  • Rompida
  • Rapilon
  • Up and Down
  • Doblada
  • Figure 8 Down
  • Figure 8 Up
  • Abanico Corto
  • Abanico Largo
  • Abanico Overhead
  • Hirada Batangueña

These strikes are a combination of multiple striking and blocking techniques.

I asked my younger sister to take a video of me and promised her that I will give her something in return someday. You know she is always my partner in crime. Since it is quite dangerous to perform these strikes inside our house, I decided to perform this on our rooftop. I do not want to be hit by my Arnis baton by my Father for the reason I destroyed our television by accident. I still love my life, so it is a big no for me.

I spent more than an hour taking a video on our rooftop directly hit by the rays of the sun. My sweat is dripping from my forehead and my hands are already blistered. The skin started to peel off because of playing Arnis, lol. If you are wondering why I am taking a long time from executing each strike, it is because I need to study the movements and patterns first before doing them into action. I can easily memorize them but some are hard to follow by just watching the tutorial sent by my professor.

Arnis (3).png

Both of my palms are glowing red already because of holding my arnis baton for too long. It is not that painful but whenever I strike that is when the pain fromt the blister starts. I just simply endured it and focus on finishing my video, I don't want to stay on the rooftop for how many hours.

Arnis (5).png

After successfully executing all the required techniques I can now rest for a while. I missed playing this martial art but I do not miss the pain behind it. Still, I am thankful that this traditional martial art originated from the past and is included in our university's curriculum. It is a great way to teach youth discipline and self-defense. On the other hand, it is also a movement to preserve the history and culture of the Philippines.

Arnis (6).png

Have you ever played Arnis before? How is your experience? Did you also get some wounds just like me by playing this traditional martial art? What can you say about it? Feel free to share your experiences below.


ALL IMAGES in this BLOG are ALL MINE unless stated otherwise

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center