Number 4: I'm a hot dude! Steady Increase of COVID-19 Cases and Keeping Our Cool

Once upon a time, there was a beautiful planet named Earth which, according to science, formed billions of years ago. It is our home. It is the only one we have and until we are able to colonize another planet, we will still be permanent tenants here for the foreseeable future.

stockvaultchildholdingtheworldinherhands181032_b1.jpg

Now, I am a little messy when I work with things scattered all over the place, but I do try to put things back in order and, regrettably, do fall short of my clean up goals. As always, my wife is there to lend a hand and make everything neat again, ready for me to do my thing which will make somebody upset after a couple of hours of work (sorry dear! ). I’m glad that I have my wife to take care of our home.

Looking at the big picture, we humans have made a mess out of our home planet. Pollution levels are at an all-time high and a quick search will tell us that air pollution is one of the leading causes of death. Wow. Five million deaths are attributed to it per year as the leading risk factor.

This is just one example of the countless number of challenges that we are facing today, both natural and man-made, but the question that is percolating in my mind is who will clean up our once beautiful and majestic planet? I cannot fathom the amount of work that will be needed for such a gigantic clean up.

COVID-19 Update, ABS-CBN Corporation & the Heat Wave

Today (May 6), there are 3,727,865 Coronavirus cases according to worldometers.info (371,628 more than my last update four days ago, averaging a daily increase of 92,907).

On the other hand, there are 258,340 deaths and 1,242,393 recoveries. In a few days, the confirmed cases will reach 4 million people. Wow. The numbers are mind-blowing.

1a.jpg

I watched ABS-CBN go off the air last night because it was ordered by government regulators to do so, and felt really bad, sad, mad about it. The issue has been brewing for some time now and will continue to because most Filipinos get entertainment and news from TV. There are multiple sides and arguments for and against, the most pressing issue of which is the 11,000 employees and their families who will be affected by the closure of the network. For me, the timing is really off on this especially now that the people are looking for information and the most accessible one is nowhere to be found.

This heat wave - whew!

This heat index map from the Pag-asa website says it all. The Philippines is heating up, folks. But, let’s keep our heads cool about all of the things that are happening around us.

HeatIndex.jpg

The thing about the heat index that we need to know is that it’s a human discomfort index, meaning it as a measure of how hot (or cold) we feel. This can be increased by many factors, such as direct sunlight and humidity. Having said that, what we really need to remember is how we can avoid the negative effects. Here are a few tips from the official Pag-asa website:

3a.jpg

Well, that’s it for now; short and sweet

I do hope you enjoyed reading as much as I enjoyed creating this post. I really appreciate the feedback and comments. Hopefully, you can give me some more pointers on how to improve my blog posts. So, please leave a comment if you found this article entertaining, informative, or if you just want to share a similar experience that happened to you recently.

Thanks and wishing everyone a bright and healthy week.

PS. Who will clean up the mess we left behind? Will the next generation get to experience nature as we know it today? Any thoughts...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now