Unexpected Things Always Happen: Getting Sick in the First Week of Classes

Hey, Hivers! It's jpatrick28, and I'm excited to be back with new experiences and stories to share. It's been a while since my last post. I haven't uploaded anything in a few days.

In my previous blog, I shared my preparations for the new school year. I ensured I was fully ready, but unexpected things always happen.


Add a little bit of body text (8).jpg

On August 19, 2024, it was the first day of school. I woke early to prepare my clothes, ate breakfast, and headed to school. I felt so excited as I waited for a bus to arrive.

I reached the school half an hour before the start of the classes, which gave me time to locate my classroom and catch up with my classmates from the last school year.

A few minutes before the bell rang, I went to our classroom. There were many unfamiliar faces, but I also spotted some of my old classmates. As I looked around, I found my seat in the front row! I don't like sitting at the front row.

As I sat down, I found a chocolate wafer on my desk. It was a welcoming gift prepared by our teacher.

Add a little bit of body text (4).jpg

My day went well. We introduced ourselves in front of the class and had an orientation about the school rules and code of discipline. The room was full of fun and laughter.

During lunch break, I left the classroom and started feeling a headache. I also noticed that my temperature was rising. I went to the clinic to get some medicine, but as the day passed, I started feeling even worse.


After class, my brother invited me to eat outside. Since it was the first day of school, I agreed. But later on, I regretted my decision!

We went to 'Wingyard,' a restaurant that offers unlimited chicken wings. It wasn't our first time going there, and I had included this place in my previous blogs. We ordered different flavors of chicken and fries.

Add a little bit of body text (6).jpg

After we ate, I was so full that I almost didn't finish what I ordered. After eating, I started feeling worse, so we bought some medicine before going home.


As I arrived home, I started feeling worse. I checked my temperature and it was 38 degrees Celsius. Oh no! I have a fever!


Add a little bit of body text (7).jpg

By midnight, my fever was getting worse and my temperature wasn't going down. I was worried that I might have to miss the second day of school. I was hoping that I would feel better by the morning.

Unfortunately, the next day I still didn't feel well. I tried different methods to get better such as taking medicine, walking around the house, putting wet towels on my forehead, and even trying herbal medicine called 'tawa-tawa.'

At night, I started feeling a bit better, thankfully. However, the next day, I decided to take an absence to fully recover. I continued taking my medication, and my condition improved, allowing me to go back to school the following day.


I unexpectedly had a fever and missed the first two days of school. I was disappointed to miss out on all the fun during those two days, but I'm feeling better now and ready to tackle academic challenges. Hopefully, I won't get sick again in the future.

Author's note: All pictures are owned and edited by the author.
That's all for now!
-Pat T.
09/01/24

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center