ONCE UPON A TIME: The Journey

"The journey is never ending. There's always gonna be growth, improvement, adversity; you just gotta take it all in and do what's right, continue to grow, continue to live in the moment."
-Antonio Brown

Hello what's up my beloved hivers! It's me once again, emminemsss on your wall. At this point of time, I want to share with you some of my experiences since I was a little.

20240413_210718_0000.png
Image edited in Canva.
These photos were taken recently.

Ever since I was a child, I was taught to live a simple life in the province. My family and I lived in a faraway place called "Purok Hunob." It's the smallest purok in Barangay Gen. Malvar. I can count the houses built in our place. But despite the number of people living there, it was the most peaceful place I've been to. Living there made me realize that being poor is a blessing.

We struggle with so many things, like a lack of electricity and inadequate water supply, since we are far from the barangay. We haven't had that much attention from the higher-ups—you know what I mean. Even the roads are still unpaved. The little me always wanted to have that privilege to have something like others have. But it's not a toy that I want, like other kids, but things that are hard for us to reach—comfortable living.

As a child, my greatest struggle every day was the distance of the school from our house. We walk every day for, like, half an hour. My elementary school days were the simplest and most enjoyable. I realized that my struggle doesn't begin there. It's just a little bit of a good journey for my childhood experiences.

20240413_223357_0001.png
Images edited in Canva.
These were the roads we walked every day.

When I was in high school, I was still struggling with the rough road, no electricity, and an inadequate water supply. But life must go on. I continued pursuing my studies in high school, and I chose humanities and social sciences in senior high school. Which I struggled with financially because of my research study and other expenses. I was like, asking for extra money from my parents, then I'll keep it and use it for the next expenses.

Last year(2019), our Purok finally had electricity. But happiness becomes a burden when Typhoon Odette hits and destroys the country. After a long month of waiting, we're able to use electricity. One of our dreams was finally achieved. And I am so grateful for that. God is really good.

Last year, my father decided to borrow money from his boss to build a "tasok" to stop the struggle in the water supply. I was very happy, but I was also worried about how he would pay for the expenses. Because I know that it will cost a lot. Fortunately, after a while, he was able to pay back the money he borrowed. Another achievement from my father's hard work. It was all good.

I'm currently in my college moment, where the real struggle begins. Everything in the past becomes a great lesson for my old and mature self. With those experiences, I am now a better and stronger person. Yes, I can definitely say that I am better now than before. I have a hint of how things go on, either in a negative or positive way. My experiences contributed to my growth as a person and became my motivation to continue improving.

20240413_223323_0002.png

Not even the dust of the rough road, the distance of the school from home, or the finances can stop me from dreaming. I'll strive hard and achieve my heart's greatest desire. Because I believe I can, I will take the risk. -eminemsss

If I can, you could do great as well my beloved hiver's. Continue to live your journey and make use of your experiences to be a better and strong person in the future.

Thank you for reading. Please comment your unforgettable experience in your childhood moments. I love you all.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now