HAVING A HOME THAT I CAN CALL MY OWN DESPITE THE CHALLENGE OF LIVING AWAY FROM THE MAIN ROUTE

May your troubles be less, your blessings be more, and nothing but happiness come through your door – Irish Blessing

Home is where love, hope, and dreams begin. The magical thing about home is that it feels lovely to leave and even great to return. "Home is where love lives, memories are made, friends are always welcome, and laughing never stops."

Light Brown Scrapbook Style Birthday Photo Collage.png

Hello to all the friendly people in the Hive. How is your day going? I hope everyone is safe and feeling well. As for here, we are experiencing bad weather in our area. DOST- PAG-ASA declared an orange rainfall warning for the whole Visayas Region in the Philippines yesterday and today. Based on DepEd Order No 37, Series 2022, school heads can declare a suspension of classes when the province is declared an orange and red rainstorm. If there is a suspension of classes, it should be replaced with Saturday classes. Today January 12, 2023, according to DOST- PAG-ASA, the entire Visayas Region has been given a red rainfall warning. Classes have been canceled once more. It is almost 2 days of class suspension. Thus, we are staying in our home right now except for my two daughters studying in private school.

IMG_20230111_182324.jpg

IMG_20230111_182406.jpg

IMG_20230111_182532.jpg

Yesterday, Wednesday, January 11, 2023, I reported to our school even though the class was suspended because the suspension was declared too late. I was on my way to school when I received the message. So, I just proceeded on my way. I felt the strain of commuting from home to school while on the route because our house is far from the main road. It took over ten minutes to go from my house to the main road, which is 100 meters or more. Many people have asked me why I constructed my home in that location. Why I did not purchase a space in a subdivision or near a main road? So, my dear hive friends, allow me to share a glimpse of the Home I Call My Own.

I parted from my parents after marriage. My husband and I decided to rent a house near the school where I was assigned. After 3 years, the owner decided to use the house. So, even though we weren't ready, we had no choice but to leave the house. I'm bored of renting, so I've chosen to return home and live with my parents. At that time, I had little savings. I decided to use the little amount for the construction of our house. I don't have a budget to pay for a lot near the main road because lot prices in our town are very high, so I must stay and build the house on my father's inherited lot. Even though it is not near the highway, but at least we have our own home for comfort and protection.

After several months, my house was only partially completed, with no roofing. So, I went to one of the construction firms in Bogo and applied for roofing installation on an installment basis. We transferred into our new house without electricity, flooring, or finishing because living with my parents and having two children is tough for me. Our family is growing; therefore, I need a place that we can call home for safety and convenience. Little by little, it was just last 2019 when our house was fully furnished. Thanks to our almighty father for his guidance and blessings to be able to completely finish our home now.

IMG_20230112_105228.jpg

IMG_20230112_113048.jpg

The site where we built our home is peaceful and free of air pollution and noise. However, this location is not suitable for residential construction since it is suitable for agriculture. The terrain is flat and close to a water supply. The next parcel was used as a rice field, cornfield, and sugarcane plantation. The location is pleasant, but when it rains, it is very challenging to travel to the main road or route.

IMG_20230111_182200.jpg

IMG_20230111_182221.jpg

Since our house is quite far from the highway, we felt difficulty walking since the route was very muddy and easily flooded. If we used our tricycle or vehicle, the tire would sink into the mud. So it's better to walk for safety. It's good for me since I am used to it, for my children do not. They used to ride a tricycle rather than walk. They are afraid of getting tumbling down the slippery and muddy route.

IMG_20230111_181822.jpg

IMG_20230111_181721 - Copy.jpg

IMG_20230111_181634 - Copy - Copy.jpg

IMG_20230111_181708 - Copy - Copy.jpg

IMG_20230111_181734 - Copy - Copy.jpg

IMG_20230111_181758 - Copy (2).jpg

IMG_20230111_181835 - Copy.jpg

IMG_20230111_181856 - Copy.jpg

IMG_20230111_181620 - Copy.jpg

So, every time there's heavy rain, my husband complains. He complained about living far from the highway. This is the challenge we face not until we can build a house near the main route. But nowadays, owning a lot near the main road is another challenge. But someday, I can have it. If not, I can open a private road this year for my family's comfort. I am praying to God that my proposal will be granted. He will touch the heart of the person who owns a portion of the land to donate for the road opening. Because the previous proposal to open the road near our house was not realized because of one person alone. He did not sign the paper.

IMG_20230111_181721.jpg

IMG_20230111_181734 - Copy.jpg

When they opened the barangay road and far from our house, and I got hurt. I blamed the barangay officials for what had happened. Since it was me who proposed or requested the said projects and as one of the tax contributors of the government with almost 80k to 100k per year it's hurting on my part. But the wound in my heart healed little by little. I had my other proposal last year and I've seen a positive on this matter. I started communicating with them ( the owner). I have seen that there's a little hope right now. I only need time to focus on this for the fast processing of papers.

That's all for this blog. I hope you learn something from reading this. Thank you. God bless!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now