The fear of separation:between life and death

Seeing death as the end of life is like seeing the horizon as the end of the ocean. David Searls

Hello everyone, after voting during our barangay election my mother dear was having seizures. First, it was because she had a fever the day before and second she only walked from our house to the polling station under the heat of the sun without any protection. Later that day she had high temperature and started chilling all over her body.

IMG20231102100003.jpg
First admission

It was 5:30 in the afternoon when my phone rang, my niece was calling and asking to bring the car to my mom's place. It takes 15 minutes from our place to their house and because people were outside their homes due to the election there was a build-up of traffic going anywhere.
When we reached their place I ran inside the house and witnessed by myself the situation of my mother. I can hear her chills and can see how her body moves.

IMG20231102095950.jpg
admitted at Minglanilla District hospital

She already defecated on her underwater, so we need to clean her first before taking her to the nearest hospital. I could see her pale lips, and her strength was all gone. She lost her consciousness and cannot talk well. My niece kept on crying while assisting my aunt's nurse cleaning. I also observed that her left eye could not open. Thoughts of dying were on my mind. Everyone was so nervous but my aunt kept on talking to her so she could still respond.
After cleaning we changed all her clothes lifted her on a chair and brought her to the car. We brought her to Vicente Mendiola Medical Hospital in our place.

I called all my siblings and told them what had happened except for our youngest. I did not let her know for she has to travel with her motorbike way back home. We went directly to the emergency room and nurses were assisting. They put dextrose and interviewed us on what had happened. After a while, she gained consciousness and was let her take a rest for observation.

IMG20231102073545.jpg
Gaining some strength

She wanted to eat but she was not allowed to eat. We waited for how many hours we spent our night outside the hospital. After two hours the nurse gave us samples of her blood to be taken to another hospital for laboratory tests. It was 11 pm. We traveled by motorcycle going to the nearest hospital for laboratory tests.
My niece will be left to be with my mom that night. We went home because we had to work for the next day.
Early the next day it happened again. She lost consciousness and could not talk about anything. She didn't even know who we were and she was like a child talking. After almost an hour she gained back her consciousness. All my siblings were crying but I didn't. I keep myself strong so my siblings will become stronger too.

IMG20231102103909.jpg
District Hospital

To make the long story short we we were admitted to Minglanilla District Hospital. We spent four nights and have been released after that. We thought we could rest but there was another more severe attack. She lost breathing. We brought her back to the emergency room but good thing she awoke from a deep sleep. We thought it was the last day but God is good. We were advised to take a CT scan and it came out she had meningioma. Her left brain has some lesions.

Tears kept flowing in her eyes as soon as she knew the result. We were advised again to be transferred to bigger hospitals to have close monitoring. Until now we were sulking in deep problems since we were only working class and could not afford bigger hospitals. We were asking God will do miracles in my mom's life.

We just signed a waiver that we refused to be transferred to another hospital. We bring our mom home and take care of her. Lots of love and care were given. She gained her strength back again with close monitoring of her blood sugar and blood pressure.

As of now, we are waiting for The MRI schedule. Magnetic Resonance Imaging gives image details on her left brain.
We were also trying to gather enough funds before admitting her to big hospitals. We still thank God she is still with us until now.

I hope you support my blog, and include Mom in your prayers. With this, it will help us support my mom. Thank you so much.

Note: So sorry that just a few pictures were taken, we were not allowed to take pictures inside the hospital.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center