Dealing with Life Transitions

Dealing with Life Transitions

Heyah Hivers!

How are you doing? I'm finally back after a few months of making adjustments and dealing with life transitions. The year had not yet ended, but life had surprised me with many twists and turns, detours, and new but exciting directions.

life transitions.png

Hive has been my home for almost a year now. It has been my safe place of sharing my thoughts & ideas and I wasn't that consistent because of my fear- fear of not being good enough, smart enough, or as good as others, especially in the field of writing.

But I've come to my own terms of facing my fears head-on and maximizing what I have and what I can contribute. This wasn't an overnight decision but a result of major changes and transitions in my life right now.

So what really happened?

The first transition I had to deal with was when I resigned from my 2-year job in the construction industry. It has been my comfort zone and my 2nd home, colleagues turned into family and work became bearable because of them too. Also, they are also the reason why I've come to know Hive (shoutout to @intoy.bugoy / @indayclara / @arlin19)

life transitions (1).png
Where did I go?

I was hired and sent to Manila for nearly a month of training. What a great way to begin a new job! A strange place, far from home, let alone the language barrier! Oh my goodness! Haha.

My training was extremely rigorous. We were trained by a German Principal Designer, whose name made me nervous just hearing it. We had lots of training and hands-on exercises. It was difficult but I loved every minute of it. It refreshed my love for architecture and design since this new job is more focused on creating design solutions for our clients.

life transitions (2).png

During training, I met other new designers in the company and we formed a bond. My fears and feelings of being "different" in the group had vanished because I was the only "bisaya" in the batch. I became acquainted with them and realized that there are still wonderful people in the world!

Because it was my first time in BGC, one of my co-trainees even took me on a tour!

life transitions (3).png
It was also my first extended period of living on my own. I grew up with my Lola and Lolo by my side. So going to Manila and facing my fears was a huge leap of faith for me. I'm not sure if I can do it, but thank God! I made it!

life transitions (4).png
As time passes, I realize how grateful I am to my grandparents for taking care of me and how fortunate I am to have them. Solo living wasn't easy at all. You have to take responsibility for everything you do, which I think is also a valuable lesson I've learned at this point in my life.

Being in an unfamiliar environment really brought out the other side of me- the independent and adventurous side! I've been so at ease staying in my comfort zone, doing things I already knew, and not taking risks. Because of my fear, I was initially hesitant to travel to Manila and blog again. That is why I am grateful to my loved ones for their unwavering support and encouragement.

I returned to Cebu with a light heart and a joyful soul. No more what-ifs!

But wait!!!!

Going to Manila was supposed to be the biggest plot twist in my life, but I was wrong.

The greatest plot twist was waiting for me.

life transitions (5).png

My boyfriend proposed to me, and the rest is history. It was very unexpected, very raw (I'm so unprepared! In short, haggard! lol), but I wouldn't have it any other way. It's a feeling I can't put into words. I was speechless for a moment, but then I said yes without a doubt! I'm looking forward to the new chapter that God has given us.

life transitions (6).png

With all of this happening, I realized that there is a time for everything.
There are times when we should stay in our comfort zone and times when we should step outside of it. A time to sow the seeds of hard work and reap the fruits of our labor. A time to pause, start, and let go. Know that you have your own timeline. So don't compare yours and start embracing your season.

So hold on guys, whatever you're doing will not be in vain because God has a plan for everything in our lives. You may not notice it yet, but it is on its way!

Thanks for listening to my story Hivers. See you on my next blogs!

To better days ahead!🥂

life transitions (7).png

Hello! Thanks for reading.
~see you on my next adventure, until then!Paalam!~


12987991_1329187503765158_1269399361_n.jpg

arkicarls

Hi I'm Carla, an Architect by profession but a real-foodie in nature. I'd like to see the world as an art, full of mystery, wonder, and beauty worth living and exploring. I believe that each of us has unique gifting that could help make this world a better place.

Thanks for reading! If my content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment. Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on my journey here on Hive.
Fighting!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center