A personal story at #BeerSaturday

Engelken

Some time ago, in my posts about Duvel, which I’ve been posting in other editions of #BeerSaturday, I’ve been telling you about how I visited my grandparents and drunk either Westmalle or Duvel matured or not matured beers…

In October I’ve been in Belgium to visit my grandfather for a last time (during a nice afternoon at my aunt’s place) and for a very last time at the home where he has been staying the last 3-4 years of his life. He got diagnosed an infection in his foot, which was not curable and which – together with his dementia - would be the end of story for him.

So during this very last visit I decided to take him out to the cafetaria and have a last beer with him. I preferred to try something we hadn’t been trying before together (he had of course) because it’s something quite new. The name of this beer is “engelken” which means something like “little angel”. I considered this suitable to honour him here on Hive after he would have passed away (16th December 2022)

Engelken is brewed by “De Brouwbende” some friends from Berlare, the village where I come from and where my grandfather lived about 70 from his 91 years. The beer is named after one of the 5 breweries active in Berlare till 1930 (“Den Engel”)

Was it just the magic of the moment that I wanted to succeed 100% because of the unique chance and occasion which would never come back that made this beer tasting so special and exceptionally good? (I don’t know… and I’ll tell you when during my next visit in Belgium I’ll try another Engelken if it weren’t like this). Or was it the time in the afternoon which I generally don’t taste beers at?

Fact is that THIS Engelken with this beautiful golden colour and this great foam tasted like “a little angel pissing on my tongue” like my grandparents used to tell when drinking something of exceptional quality (generally speaking certain champagnes or matured wines). Very well balanced beer, a bit fruity, not bitter, great aftertaste. The alcohol volume of 8,5% is just perfect: giving body to the beer without over-alcoholising it.

Conclusion: I absolutely will try Engelken again during on of my next visits to Belgium. I didn’t when I was over there for the funeral around Christmas but I probably will go back around Eastern!

I'd like to end this post with our lasts sip together (RIP):

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments
Ecency