Smoking a beer with homemade cocktail smoker.

I was recently at a friends house enjoying some whiskey. He was showing me a smoker called a Foghat he had purchased for about $100. He was smoking the whiskey we were drinking and it definitely adds another level to whatever you are drinking. I figured I was not paying $100 for a cocktail smoker so I would have to make one.

I went home looked through my scrap wood pile and found a few pieces of white oak (White oak is used in making most whiskey / bourbon barrels). I chucked it up in my lathe and began turning. I bought a stainless steel kitchen drain screen and a 4 pack of cocktail smoker wood shavings. I had an extra drawer pull in the shop and added it to the top. This is the cocktail smoker I made.

Besides being a great smoker for whiskeys, it works great on beers as well. I made this video showing me using my homemade cocktail smoker to smoke my homebrewed black IPA. It ads a slight smokey flavor to the beers and I find I like it with most dark beers such as porters and stouts.

If you buy or make one of these I suggest getting one made of white oak or other wood used in making spirit or wine barrels. The white oak smokers are more expensive but is a safe wood for drinking. I have seen some of these smokers really cheap and made out of pressed wood. Not sure what chemicals would come out of the pressed wood when burned, so be careful with what you get.

I hope you enjoyed this post and get a chance to try smoking your favorite whiskey or beer.

If you have not tried Splinterlands the play to earn game, click on the link below and join the fun. Splinterlands does require spending some money to start earning which is about $10 US dollars.

https://splinterlands.com?ref=scoutroc

Another play to earn game, I really enjoy playing is Rising Star. If you have not tried Rising Star give it a shot, it's free, and here is a link.

https://www.risingstargame.com?referrer=scoutroc

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center