"Helles Yeah" for #Beersaturday

Beersaturday time. I'm here with another review - right on schedule. Get ready for two Lagered beers coming your way. Let's check them out.

Helle Lager


20240830_160507~2.jpg

Brewery: Wellington Brewery
Origin: Guelph, ON Canada
Style: Helle Lager
Abv: 4.5%
IBU: 20
SRM: 2

20240830_160520~2.jpg

Marketing: White and silver can with Wellington Boot brand logo displayed prominantly up front and center. Simple and effective design.

20240830_160955~2.jpg

Lots of additional information about the beer on the back (always appreciated), and gold and silver medal awards subtly showcased.

20240830_160942~3.jpg

I especially like the catchy humorous "Helles yeah!" Written on the can. Who doesn't love a nice play on words? I think I'll incorporate that into the post title this week...done!

20240830_160446~2.jpg

Color: The beer poured a very nice, very rich, golden yellow color. On top, a white head of foam to trap all the delicious smelling aromas.

Nose: Speaking of aroma, this one had a nice smell of sweet corn and fresh grass.

Taste: Sweet upfront, slightly tangy, with a fairly mild bitter finish. I'm getting some subtle corn and apple flavors coming through. Pleasant.

Texture: Nice frothy bubbly carbonation, like most lagers. Light to medium bodied in my opinion.

20240830_162216~2.jpg

Impression: Watch me try and take a photo while I pour the beer into the glass... This was a great beer overall with a lot of flavor. I used to live in Guelph ON and have been to the Brewery and done a tour there. It's a neat spot with some superb beers on offer.

20240830_162306~2.jpg

Spilt it everywhere. That was an idiot move. I wont try that again.

Lug-Tread


20240921_162444~2.jpg

Brewery: Beau's Brewing Co
Origin: Vankleek Hill, ON Canada (Never heard of the place. No idea where it is but guessing that it's a small town somewhere.
Style: Lagered Ale
Abv: 5.2%
IBU: Unknown

20240921_162533~2.jpg

Marketing: A milky white color can with an old school, green, farm tractor image. The can has a very obvious "farm life" feel about it. Craft beers in Ontario often go with either a farm or cottage themed design it seems.

20240921_162357~2.jpg

Color: The beer poured a golden yellow, like farm hay, and had a decent amount of frothy foam on top. Hurrah!

Nose: Grass and bread dough come through in the nose along with cereals and a very subtle skunkiness (not overwhelming but noticeable).

Taste: The taste is tangy with a nice balancing bitterness in the finish. I get some pear or apple flavors coming through along with that mild skunkiness I mentioned above.

Texture: Standard mouthfeel with a good amount of carbonation. Nothing special to report here.

Impression: This is a decent beer that to me is like a better ingredient, fresher version, of a domestic premium brand. It's an everyday drinker type of beer. There was the little bit of skunkiness that I mentioned but it didn't detract from the enjoyability of the beer. I find that a lot of lagers have that quality about them for me. This isn't my go to beer but I've drank it quite a fews times and would drink it again for sure.

Well thats it for now. Until next time, thanks for stopping by.

Cheers everyone!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now