Bayern Dragon's Breath: An Amateurish Beer Review

Dragon's Breath.jpg

It's been a while, but I'm back for more alcohol exploration! Bayern Brewing of Missoula, Montana has been around for 35 years, and Dragon's Breath is their take on a dark hefeweizen.

It definitely bears more of a resemblance to my limited experience of imported German beers than the over-the-top fare typical of Inland Northwest microbrews, but that makes sense. According to their site, "All you will find in a Bayern beer is malted barley, yeast, hops, and water, and the experience of a Bavarian Masterbrewer." Well, and wheat for wheat beers, I suppose.

I didn't do the best job on pouring or photographing this glass, so don't judge the appearance by my picture. This is a dark brown brew with a decent creamy head, and the hops and malt create an aroma that definitely seems more like that of the few German and Belgian beers I have managed to try. It tastes malty with a nice bite, more complex than the usual MOAR CITRUS AND PINE HOPS common in this area. I don't know how to describe the flavor, but there is an up-front sweetness, and almost a spicy aftertaste. I like it.

Stats: 6% ABV, 18 IBU.

Subjective impression: a nice bottle to close out the day. This deserves to be savored, not gulped down during a sportsball broadcast. Read more snobbish reviews at Beer Advocate if you prefer. I'd consider buying this again. I would definitely take it over Moose Drool, and don't misunderstand, I also like that Montana brew.


468x60-3.png

You'll more likely win just a few Satoshis per hourly spin, but it's an easy way to dip your toes in the Bitcoin ecosystem. Referral link.

PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center