#BeerSaturday Golden Champion a nice brew from over the border in Dorset

OK, Hivers this week's tipple picked up from the shelf of my local supermarket is Badger Ales Golden Champion A 4.5%ABV award-winning golden ale.
IMG_0313.jpg

To be honest Badger Ale and I go back a very long way. In the early 1980s When I was doing my Chief Engineers Certificate at Warsash Marine College near Southampton Halls and Woodhouse who brew Badger ales was the college bar beer supplier I had a few brewery trips to Blandford Forum in Dorset during my time there.

Halls and Woodhouse are a very well-established larger brewer and have been going strong since 1777 so not a brewer in the modern trendy small craft brewery sense at all but they have always done some cracking traditional beers.

Anyway on with the beer. Named after that renowned summer acrobat the golden harvest mouse I wouldn't advise trying any cartwheels after a few bottles of this in the summer.

This beer pours very well with a nice head that it holds very well, its got a slight flowery nose and has a lovely light crisp taste a really refreshing beer. It will probably make a good alternative to cider which is my usual summer tipple as it's available from the keg at Halls and Woodhouse pubs as well as bottles.

2021-03-13 11.01.10.jpg

Certainly, nothing that you wouldn't expect from one of the World Beer winners in 2019. but more on that a bit later

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now