Politics and God

Despite the title, this post is about alcohol. And by alcohol, I mean the actual drink, and not the topic of politics and God surrounding it. Specifically, a unique beer that became available locally.

"Politics and God" is the name of a wheatwine beer made by Sockeye Brewing. It has an ABV of 11.7%, so you can overdo it with this if you're not careful.

After fermentation, the beer is aged for ten months in "Old Elk" wheated bourbon barrels. This leads to some great flavors.

While I can't say I completely agree with some of the flavors they advertise, like "fired bread" and "tanned leather," I do agree with some of them, such as the slight hint of raisin. You can slightly taste some of the "bruleed maple sugar," and it has a hint of caramel as well. (Source)

It's not overly sweet and not bitter, however it does have a strong upfront alcohol taste to it. The strange thing is that this mellows on the back end and the aforementioned flavors come out to replace it.

It's $15 per bottle, which certainly isn't cheap, but it's a limited batch run. It fills two cups about halfway. While it may not seem like much, for many that will be enough to give you a buzz. If you're like me and have a high tolerance for alcohol, you'll likely need to drink the whole bottle to get a buzz going.

I wouldn't say I'd buy this regularly, but I do think it's a very unique beer worth buying. I ended up buying two bottles to take home. I have one left, so I'll likely save it for a special occasion. If you run across a chance to try or buy some, don't hesitate!


1000033547.jpg
Buy DUO and stake to receive Hive dividends, tip others, have your posts curated and grow Hive!
https://tribaldex.com/trade/DUO
https://hive-engine.com/trade/DUO




Do you like stacking gold and silver?

Are you new to Hive, or know someone new to Hive, and want help and support?

Have you been on Hive for a while and want to help new Hive members? Join HOC and help us grow Hive and encourage new members!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments