Urban kittens in the countryside

IMG_20240802_114508.jpg

Maggie and Lily are my niece's cats who spend their summer vacation in the countryside, so to speak. Well, this is not exactly the countryside, but compared to the city where they regularly live, this is a much smaller environment where they can also get to know the garden. My niece studies in the capital and these cats were born there, in the concrete forest. Now they are spending a few weeks in the grandparents' home so getting to know the outside life is what these two young ladies are experiencing. New area and new discoveries for the furry creatures!

When my niece is not at home, the cats are not allowed to go outside. Safety reasons - as they would not come back. They do listen to my niece though, their big mom so just when she is around they can enjoy these exploration activities.

IMG_20240802_135758.jpg

IMG_20240803_100515.jpg

They are also happy with the couch, blankets and especially pillows. Maggie, the black and one cat took possession of my son's pillow and in other moments the top of the couch was her favourite place. She was adopted from a shelter as a young adult cat and has a peculiar character. She can be sweet and cuddly when she wants that. Ah, and she is not tolerating other furry babies. My niece wanted to adopt another cat too, but they didn't get well along.

IMG_20240802_135559.jpg

Quite a weird way of holding the tail. Many times she curls her tail even twice, like a pig 😁

IMG_20240802_114545.jpg

My niece told me the secret that Maggie doesn't like to be photographed. So true... it was difficult to get her to look toward me at all. And even here she doesn't look directly into the camera. There are five other photos in this same pose but she is looking at all other directions and not showing her face. So shy Maggie.

IMG_20240802_114528.jpg

What? Photos of me will appear on Hive? 😱

IMG_20240803_100319.jpg

Maggie had other, bigger surprises than this. As I mentioned, when my niece wanted to adopt another cat Maggie didn't accept it. For some time it was clear that she would be the only cat in the home of my niece. However, life brings interesting turns, even for cats. When my niece found that little grey kitty in May, full of fleas in the street by a garbage container, she couldn't leave her there, alone. I guess that was a huge surprise for Maggie but somehow, she accepted this new kitty as her baby. She took care of her for two months

Now Lily grew a bit bigger and wants to play all day long. It would be all normal and cool, little ones need to play to learn but Maggie got annoyed with that behaviour and now she just growls at Lily and beats her.

IMG_20240802_114555.jpg

It doesn't stop Lily from playing 99% of her time being awake. Well, I still didn't see her sleeping; but I saw her falling from the first floor! 😳

She is simply unstoppable, just gravity made her lose control and try out the new flying activity while falling from the first-floor balcony. Poor kitty, she was scared a bit. I felt her heartbeats when I took her to calm down and check if everything was fine with her. In a few minutes, she was already the same active and playful as before the freestyle flying adventure. Fearless and unstoppable indeed.

IMG_20240802_114505.jpg

Creatures of the garden - beware of me, the fearless Lily!

mipiano_-_MP.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments