Ice Cream Creations - OMG Halo Halo Finally!!

Hello friends, Hivers and ice cream lovers. After an eventful day which provided almost perfect weather I had the urge to try an ice cream dessert for the first time. It's really one I have had on my list for quite some time, Halo Halo. A delicacy ice cream creation from the Philippines.

Alright there isn't a ton of filipino cuisine in the area I live. A matter of fact just two restaurants and one bakery. The bakery I haven't visited yet. Of the two restaurants one is my favorite while the other I vowed not to visit again because of a past bad experience. I ended up going to the bad one but why?

My favorite place is not usually open on weekends. They also have some irregular hours as well but I will try thier version at some point. Other than that I read an online review about the other place that they have a good Halo Halo. So I revisited them simply based on the review and hey ice cream is enough reason to give them a second chance, right?

Well I wanted a little snack to pair with my Halo Halo. I had to haggle a bit because I just wanted two pieces of lumpia as they sold them in quantities of five. Anyways I got charged $3 for the two. I was a little shocked with the size perhaps I should have got 5, haha. They were hot, crispy and very tasty despite the size. The Halo Halo was $10 I thought wow a bit spendy 😳

They have changed their look inside since the last time I visited and the customer service was better as well. The last time I sat in a chair and it was like the ones in the picture above but it was all metal, these were comfortable with the cushions. This time I was greeted, checked on and acknowledged when I left. I felt very disrespected my last visit here. Anyways....

Here we are the main course πŸ˜‚ Just look at this colorful yumminess. Eating it was like a discovery of flavors the deeper I went. The English translation of Halo Halo is mix mix and it was exactly that. It was a lot to take in and it took me at least 30 minutes to finish. Every spoonful seemed to hardly put a dent getting to the bottom. No complaints my taste buds were loving it πŸ˜‹

So much flavor in this cup, oh my goodness. Why I put this off on trying for so long I don't know. My first bite was the ube ice cream which had crispy rice pieces on top. Now I know why this is a favorite for some. I'd be happy if this was all I had, haha. Don't get me wrong the rest was equally as good as I dug my way through it reaching new flavors of it.

The menu said it contained the following: shaved ice, coconut meat, banana, coconut jelly, tapioca balls, sweetened red beans, evaporated milk and leche flan. I felt there may have been some other sweet surprises in it as well. So my Filipino friends is this the typical Halo Halo?

I will definitely dig into a Halo Halo again. The next time will be at my favorite place. There's looks similar in appearance and size but the cost is about half of what I paid today. I'll keep you updated when that happens 😁

So for the remainder of the month the theme here at the Ice Cream Creations Community is Filipino ice cream experiences. No worries you don't have to be Filipino to participate. Most larger countries have Filipino cuisine somewhere. Of course there are places that don't and everyone is always welcome to share any ice cream experiences they have here.

Fairly easy to post here. I just ask for original content, your own photos and 300 words or more. If you decide to write in your own language that is fine but do include an English translation. Look forward to your photos, descriptions and experiences.

In future months I will change the themes to other countries so we can see what others are enjoying. Want to see your country be the theme of the month? Let me know in the comments.

Well all ice cream is now gone, none left to melt away. Take care, stay cool and go get some ice cream🍨🍦

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center