Meeting of Caribbean and world poets (Encuentro de poetas del Caribe y del mundo) (En-Es)

I was invited to the "Meeting of Caribbean and world poets," which is undoubtedly the most important event in terms of poetry in the city of Santiago de Cuba. Once a year, organized by the poet León Estrada and in honor of Jesús Cos Cause, this meeting takes place. A blending of different poetic voices driven by the desire to share with their peers.

Estaba invitado, al "Encuentro de poetas del Caribe y del mundo" que es sin dudas el evento más importante en lo que a poesía se refiere en la ciudad de Santiago de Cuba. Una vez al año, organizado por el poeta León Estrada y en homenaje a Jesús Cos Cause, se da este encuentro. Un cruce de diferentes voces poéticas impulsadas por el hecho de compartir con sus iguales.

This is now my second year, the first meeting I was invited to undoubtedly paved the way for me in the hermetic scenario of the poetry of this city and a bit of the world, as I established connections with colleagues from other lands. This time, already more established, the challenge was twofold. With recognition come questions and, well, there are always those who know (that's abundant in the world of literature).

Ya este es mi segundo año, el primer encuentro al que fui invitado sin dudas me abrió paso en el hermético escenario de la poesía de esta ciudad y un poco del mundo, ya que creó vínculos con colegas de otras tierras. En esta ocasión, ya más consolidado, el reto era el doble. Con el reconocimiento vienen los cuestionamientos y, bueno, los que saben (en el mundo de la literatura eso no falta).

This time we gathered at the Caguayo Foundation, belonging to one of the most prominent intellectuals in the city (Alberto Lescay), and as was evident in such cases, the arts surrounded us everywhere. After a hilarious chat with León and his characteristic sense of humor along with his advice, the event began. Trova and poetry, as is customary in this region, would be the main focus.

Esta vez nos dimos cita en la fundación Caguayo, perteneciente a uno de los intelectuales más destacados de la urbe (Alberto Lescay) y como era evidente en estos casos, las artes nos rodeaban por todas partes. Después de una hilarante charla con León y ese sentido del humor que lo caracteriza sumado a sus consejos, empezó el evento. Trova y poesía, como se estila en esta región, serían las protagonistas.

I would be the first to read, as I had another event just half an hour apart (another story involving rap). As I grabbed the microphone and the cell phone in hand to read, I noticed something strange. I had some tension running through me, perhaps it was the gaze of the most talented young people in the discipline scrutinizing my soul or the slow and ponderous gaze of the already established ones, judging whether my Spoken Word combined with Slam Poetry deserved such a space.

Yo sería el primero en leer, pues tenía otro evento a solo media hora de diferencia (otra historia que involucra el rap) al agarrar el micrófono y el celular en mano para leer note algo extraño, tenía algo de tensión recorriéndome, tal vez era la mirada de los jóvenes más talentosos en la disciplina escudriñándome el alma o la mirada pausada y pesarosa de los ya consagrados, juzgando si mi Spoken World combinado con el Slam Poetry se merecía tal espacio.

I read six texts that could be said to be categorical, which assumed my journey through poetry a bit in retrospect, from the most recent to my beginnings (the good ones, the others no longer exist), thus closing with a text that I shared with @claudiocruz. After the applause and a quick interview, the tension had dissipated. Like me, another event awaited me seconds later, with the distant echo of Caribbean and World poetry behind me.

Leí seis textos podría decirse qué categóricos, los cuales presumían mi trascurso por la poesía un poco en retrospectiva, desde lo más actual hasta mis inicios (los buenos, los otros ya no existen) así cerrando con un texto que comparto con @claudiocruz luego de los aplausos y una rápida entrevista la tensión se había ido. Como yo, segundos después, otro evento me esperaba, tras de mí el lejano eco de la poesía del Caribe y el Mundo.

Translated and formatted with Hive Translator by @noakmilo.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center