The Boy That Never Grows Old (My Introduction Post)

Hello everyone. It's a good thing to belong to a community of lively minded people. A place where your presence is highly esteemed, and your voice is heard. A place where your contributions are highly appreciated, and your name counts for something.
Let me introduce myself:

This is Me.

When people meet me for the first time, they think I'm under 20. But I'm just an elder trapped in a small body. Lol.
My name is Uko Livin’word Okokon. I was nicknamed “Living word” by friends on 2go because of the way I interacted with them. My words were always seasoned and somehow the name stuck. So I rebranded it as “Livin'word.”

I was born in Calabar, and raised in Lagos, but I'm from Akwa Ibom State, in South-South Nigeria. My early childhood was lived in Lagos. I was an adventure kid. So carefree that I didn't mind the crazy places I use to walk in. Most times, I fell into trouble for which older people in our compound would discipline me. My parents were separated before I was even born (so I was told). I stayed with my Dad, but he was always at work most of the time, though he made adequate provisions for my upkeep.
I wasn't the only child though, but I lived with him the most. My siblings were later moved to my Aunt's. I am the third child of four, and the second son.

Growing Up

Life is challenging. Just like it it for everyone. Later on, living was more of survival than making progress. But then, I realized that in surviving one must consciously strive to make progress. So despite the hurdles, I stayed my mind on God because I am a believer. I had a conviction that if I was to amount to anything meaningful or somebody respectable, God has to be a big factor. So I banked on that.

Education

I was schooled in Lagos, then in Calabar, then in Uyo, I hold a BSc in Political Science and Public Administration. I also have a keen interest in Psychology and Philosophy. I us regard myself more of a philosopher than a political scientist. 😊

Hobbies

Reading is my first hobby, then writing. I love poetry, and I have written a couple. I didn't really consider going into writing big time until recently. Thank God for platforms like Ecency, that has made it possible to monetize our skills.

“Invictus” by Williams Ernest Henly is my favourite poem. It was the poem President Nelson Mandela use to recite when he was in prison.

Photo Credit: Google

Here is one of my own poems, written for a darling friend. 😉

Besides reading and writing, I do graphic designs, as well as clothing design but mainly as side hustle. However, I would like to make a huge business out of clothing and fashion design.

I also love seeing movies and writing reviews. My all-time greatest movie series is Game of Thrones.

My Vision

I've been through difficult setbacks since childhood. But somehow, I have fought through the thick and the thin. I have seen God's hand in my journey so far. There were some hard times I came out of that I can't explain. They were nothing short of miracles. This has made me take on a mission of inspiring young people and helping them face life's challenges with faith, through my writings and speeches.

Though I presently teach in a secondary school, imparting knowledge and being a go-to person for youngsters seeking academic, moral or spiritual help has been a joy, and I've been greatly rewarded seeing students excelling academically or turning a new leaf from a deviant attitude. However, my passion goes beyond the classroom. I want to reach out to as many people as I meet, even on social media.
Because I want to be happy doing so, I invest in myself and any opportunity that comes with financial returns. Financial freedom is a goal that I want to achieve alongside fulfilling my life's mission.

What To Expect

You would see a lot of interesting contents on my page that mostly center on life, relationship, Spirituality, finance, and education.

I thank @newbreed for introducing me to #hive.
It feels good to be here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments