What is a Zine? πŸ“š the Art of Homemade Booklets πŸ“–πŸ–Œ


The world of publishing is heavily gate-kept to keep mainstream ideas the norm, which in turn makes it very hard for new writers to get their work out there. That is why I set out to make this video about how I publish my writing in the most Do It Yourself of ways.

When I first began making zines I used collaged images and newspaper clippings which I cut & pasted them together, later copying the pages one by one at the public library. Since then I have improved my process though kept the collage elements. Now all the images and words are my own and I’ve even acquired a printer!

The benefits of zines for artists or content creators is that a zine can like a mini, portable collection of your work. Such a project is great for getting your art or writing out into the world in a physical way. Unlike website and blog pages a zine doesn’t need any kind of technology to be viewed. Personally, I use zines for both of these reason; to collect together bits of writing & art as well as to keep my pen pals, friends, family in the loop of what I have been creating.

Beyond showing a bit of my process of creating zines, I also shared a few of my favorite zines that have inspired me lately. Many of them are available online to buy but, there is also a very active community of zine makers all over the world that are happy to trade zines with other creators.

I hope this inspires you are to create a zine of your own if you haven't already!


▢️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now