A drawer full of memories

Every time I sleep in my room in our cottage, which contains all the little things that we can't keep in the apartments we live in (I wrote about our cottage, that treasury of memories of mine), I make sure to look in my photo drawer.

A drawer where I keep production films tape from the camera, as well as albums with created images.
I never look at more than 20, 30 pictures, that is, one album at most, because looking at too many photos from that period of my life as well as memories of those times would affect me emotionally...

At some point in my youth, it was popular to take photos with an "idiot" camera.
You just insert a film with 36 shots into the camera and click to your heart's content... All 36 times 😀


In contrast to today's photography, when we used to take 50 photos per minute, we were much more rational on those film cameras. And we thought about what and when we would photograph.

There were, like today, serious cameras with optics, but their bulkiness has always repulsed me.
I preferred to keep a small automatic camera in my pocket (like today's mobile phone with which I take all the photos) always ready to take photos, unlike some of my friends who carried a backpack full of equipment with them...

It was the period from 1996-2003
In those 7 years, I spent kilometers of film, taking shots from various parties, gatherings, evening outings, trips, vacations, wintering, New Year's celebrations, fishing, camping, ice skating, house sitting, and all the rest. moments with company.
At that time, I was free of obligations, studying and had time to socialize. I guess because we all had the same rhythm. We were young, crazy...

Today we are no longer young (and I would not like to talk about madness, since someone could have a confirmed diagnosis😁).
The faces of most of us (who are lucky to still be in this world) have wrinkles, hair has started to recede or thin, and our bodies have changed from lack of physical activity or excessive nutrition.
And then I look at pictures of young people, happy, smiling faces, when we were all together, when we hung out, drank, sang, played...

Whenever I find myself in front of one of those photos that evoke beautiful memories, I take a photo of them with my mobile phone and send them to friends from my youth with whom I am still in contact.
I usually receive a positive reply to a meeting message on Viber or Whatsapp quickly, and a few days after looking at the photos from the album in my drawer, I sit in a bar or restaurant with friends and together we remember the events of our youth, the mischief we did, but also our friends who left us too soon...
A little laughter, a little sadness, and late night talks...

So tonight, this Thursday, when I write a post in #TBT, I will sit in a cocktail bar and enjoy colorful cocktails decorated with fruit, straws and umbrellas...
And remembering the days of socializing when we drank cheap whiskey and industrial beer instead of cocktails 🍹

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments