I Hurt Myself on My First Flight Experience in Mt. Hehuan, Nantou, Taiwan

Hello there fellow drone folks! I am Carlo aka @krios, I am a hivedev, photographer and adventurer. I am new to drone photography and yes I really did hurt myself in my first flight. But before I talk about it, in this blog post I wanted to show you my drone shots from The Breathe Taking Mt.Hehuan North Peak - Nantou, Taiwan. Read as long to enjoy the beauty of one of the stunning mountain ranges of Taiwan.

First Blood in First Flight

IMG_20230929_180406.jpg

Guide to Activities in Port Barton

In my two recent blog posts,The Breathe Taking Mt.Hehuan North Peak - Nantou, Taiwan and the Full Blown Adventure to the West Peak of Mt.Hehuan in Nantou, Taiwan I talked about my experiences in hiking Mt.Hehuan. I just bought my DJI Mini 4 Pro the day before my trip. I only have experience in photography but flat 0 in aerial photography or at least an experience in flying a drone.

Sunrise from the North Peak

DJI_20230930060350_0002_D.00_02_47_22.Still002.png

I and my friends started our climb at 4:00 AM to witness the stunning sunrise from the peak of the mountain. I made sure to capture this rare chance of sunrise as the weather in this area is quite unpredictable and it is mostly cloudy if not raining.

image.png

DJI_20230930070445_0003_D.MP4.00_03_34_20.Still012.png

DJI_20230930060350_0002_D.00_02_02_22.Still001.png

Hehuanshan, also known as Mt. Hehuan, is a prominent mountain range located in central Taiwan. It is part of the Central Mountain Range, which runs down the spine of the island. Specifically, Hehuanshan straddles the border between Nantou County and Hualien County.

Stunning isn't it? I took this shot while I was standing at the North peak of the mountain. The weather is so good, and the morning lightning is just perfect without the need to use filters.

Here is another shot from the peak. You can see a few hikers either resting or taking pictures of the scenery and their achievements. Meanwhile, I am occupied flying my drone and enjoying the unique view that only I can experience. But of course I am sharing it everyone :)

DJI_20230930060350_0002_D.MP4.00_02_25_13.Still002.png

DJI_20230930070445_0003_D.MP4.00_01_04_01.Still008.png

DJI_20230930070445_0003_D.MP4.00_03_59_28.Still013.png

Below, I flew my drown to watch my friends while going down a very steep cliff.

How stupid am I you asked?

So, the evening before our hike we set off to watch the sunrise and we parked our car near the viewing deck. And there is a very excited guy that wanna capture the beautiful scenery with the winding road.

Above, you can see I am setting my drone to make a slow shot of the winding road ahead. It was a success but... I flew my drone in the parking lot but of course, I made sure that there were no people in my landing area. Even so, it was my first time and I did not know how to land my drone manually so I relied on the auto home.

Then when it was about to touch down, it was flying very close to the fence and it made me very afraid that it would hit the fence. I panicked. So I used my hand to grab it from below and put it upside down (because that is what I saw in YT). And that is how my drone cut my thumb in the process of saving it!

Lessons learned my friend.

  1. Don't fly in areas with obstruction
  2. Don't fly in areas with people
  3. Don't be stupid
  4. What else?

But it was all worth it

So here is an extra photo of a tea plantation that I took from our camp. I hope you like my work but not my stupidity! Thank you!

DJI_20230930060350_0002_D.00_13_12_01.Still001.png

-krios


If you like my photos and adventures make sure to follow/subscribe to me:

PeakD
Instagram
YouTube


See my other photo blogs here:

A Day in Taipei Design Expo 2023

Full Blown Adventure to the West Peak of Mt. Hehuan in Nantou, Taiwan

Jiufen Old Street: Unveiling the Real-Life Spirited Away

Taipei is a cycling gem

The Breathe Taking Mt.Hehuan North Peak - Nantou, Taiwan

Sunday night in Taipei City

Residents of Mt.Hehuan Nantou, Taiwan

Unmasking Taiwan: A Money Heist-inspired Photoshoot

Imagine in 2055th, the world would be full of bubbles and humans will coexist with Robots

My gears:

  • Canon D200 II
  • Insta360 One x2
  • DJI Mini 4 Pro
  • Xiaomi 11 Lite

All photos are mine unless otherwise stated and/or referenced

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency